Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was amazingly good!! A keeper. This recipe transformed a tough cubed steak...(I only eat forage fed/organic meats, which although delish, are tougher than the hormone laden beef), tender & delish. A great way to tenderize a normally tougher cut of meat. I added crimini mushrooms to the gravy while it simmered. The mock mashed potatoes (cauliflower, garlic, cream)& sauteed spinach were tasty for a healthy, lower carb meal. The flour on the steaks thickened the gravy nicely. This is a simple, but very tasty meal. It smelled so good while simmering :-) Thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Professor Pancake
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This recipe is a HUGE hit at my home. The meat is so tender you can eat it with a spoon. I just add a few onions in the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
WOWZERS! Did not expect this to be so good. Family DEMOLISHED it. Served it with wild rice and thickened the gravy with a little guar gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidForney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great recipe. I made it last night, awesome. Incredible that with so little ingredients it turns sooo good, so much flavor. Since I am a working mother with no time, I made it in the pressure cooker: after browning the floured steaks (as the recipe calls) I added the water (1 1/2 cup), buillon and cover it. Pressure for 15 minutes. Then placed steaks in a plate. To make the sauce I added to the pot 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tsp flour (remember there is left over flour in the pan), 1 tsp butter and pepper to taste. No salt!. Stir and let cook until the sauce thickens. Add on top of the steaks. Does not need anything else!! But if you like you can add mushrooms to the sauce. Enjoy this "working-mom-with-no-time version"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
simple and tasty ,very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We're not big beef eaters, but I was at the butcher a few months back and saw the cube steaks in the case and got 4. Found them in the freezer last night and wondered what to do with them. Really glad I found this recipe. I floured (garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper in flour), browned in a few Tbsp of oil, splashed each with Worcestershire, threw in about 1/2 a sweet onion chopped, and 2 cups of boiling water with 2 beef bullion cubes. Covered on cook top for about 1 1/2 hrs on low. It was really good. The gravy wasn't that thick but had little bits of the onions and stray beef pieces and was fine over the meat and mashed potatoes. Miserably full as I type this as there are only 2 of us and no leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have to say that this was extremely tasty!! as simply as it was I would have to say it was better than what I would have made!!! The family loved it, even my very picky eater who eats nothing except chicken!! (homemade chicken strips) so I will be sure to make this again! Thanks for sharing!!! p.s. the meat was so tender you could cut it with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was outstanding! I cannot believe that cube steak can taste this good. I followed the recipe exactly, adding sliced mushrooms the last half hour. Keep an eye on the liquid, I used water and bouillon but you could also use canned beef broth. It was done in one and a half hours, very tender. The best cube steak I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Easy and delicious! I do add 1/4 cup of red wine and a pack of onion soup mix to the gravy but otherwise follow the recipe exactly. Very tender and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I tried this yesterday. It was excellent. I shall use it again. Thanks to the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States