Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I cooked this exactly as instructed. I just added yellow peppers for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The cube steak fell apart before I could even flour it. It looked more like hamburger meat than cube "steak". A ring of oil lingered in the frying pan so I ended up straining the liquid after this was done cooking. It tasted OK, a little plain. Not a huge fan this time but I will try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Wow. What a simple easy recipe. The only changes I made were that I didn't add salt, and I used cyan pepper and red pepper flakes and added a slice onion when I added the water. Next time I would brown the meat and before adding the water I would remove most if not all of the oil, otherwise this was fork tender and the gravy was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I thought this was extremely good! After seasoning them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder, I dredged the cube steaks through flour and browned them in the oil. I then took another reviewers suggestion and put them in a crockpot with sliced onions and minced garlic and 3 cups of beef broth. I let them cook for 4 hours on low. They were so tender! I then strained the broth and used that to mix with two brown gravy packets, put the meat mixture back in crockpot on high and poured the gravy mixture back in. I let that cook for about 1/2 hour while stirring and then let it sit on warm. It turned out fantastic. We served it over wide egg noodles. Great recipe! (I then had it for lunch two more days!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tw0810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I did tweek this just a bit. I use garlic roasted mushroom soup mixed with water to pour over the meat after browning. I also baked the steak at 325. Gravy over potatoes is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
These were AMAZING!!! In fact, I am making them again (for the 4th time in a. couple months time). It is tremendously sad to see someone give this recipe a poor rating because 1). Didn't have the proper type of bullion, and 2). Said it didn't specify exactly how much water to add. The recipe calls for enough water to almost cover the top of the meat. To give an exact amount of water in the recipe, we all would have to have the exact same cut and height in meat, and the exact same pan we are cooking them in. Life isn't like that! Lol! Plus, adding enough water to almost cover the meat is fine for this recipe. Again, sad that because of this, it got a poor rating by this person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe a couple of times now. Once on top of stove and once in the oven and it is great either way. Comes out so very tender that even the 90yo lady I take care of can eat it without problems. Am making it tonight and I added some onion this time and used beef broth instead of adding water. Will have fresh green beans and mashed potatoes to go along with. Thanks for a very good and tender cube steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was very easy and delicious. Hubby announced he wanted leftovers for dinner tomorrow before we were even done! I added lipton beefy onion mix for the gravy and let simmer on low in the slow cooker for 3 hours. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photophenom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
With respect to the author, this didn't turn out like I hoped. Another reviewer has given good ideas to fix this, using a wine sauce and reducing the cooking time...I'll probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States