Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I loved this recipe ! and i followed Jennifer's advice in adding cream of mushroom soup . Except I added 1/2 freshly chopped onion , it was amazing addition .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I didn't have beef bouillon, so I took a little beef gravy and mixed it with water, then covered the steaks with that. I was a little nervous that cooking the steaks for 2 hours would end in disaster, but I kept the faith and these are the best cube steaks I've ever made. Will definitely be adding this to our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I confess! I modified just a bit, not much though. I added paprika and garlic powder to the flour and baked at 325 for an hour. The flavor was perfect and normally tough cube steaks were super tender. There was no need for milk or additional spices as just a touch of flour easily thickened the sauce into a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlton Reese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Excellent recipe. Made it exactly as instructed and turned out perfect! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is how I cook cube steak, it is so tender and good! If I have it on hand I use a can of French onion soup instead of water and beef bouillon. Sometimes I also add potatoes and carrots on top before simmering for a one pan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe arrived in my in-box and the reviews were so good that I decided I had to buy cube steaks and give it a try. After reading other reviews, I decided to sauté an onion and some garlic in my pan before browning the cube steak. I put the sautéed onions and garlic on top of the individual servings of steak -- after browning and before adding the water and bouillon granules. I opted to bake mine for two hours in a 300-degree oven. When it came out, I made gravy with the liquid left in the pan and leftover flour (from breading the steaks) and milk. The result? Definitely fork-tender and the flavor was pretty good. I agree with other reviewers that it might be pretty bland if not for the onions and garlic. Reminds me of a cross between hamburger steak and chicken-fried steak. In the end, I think it's a good recipe, I just don't think I"m a big fan of cube steak. Probably won't make it again, but if you like cube steak, I would recommend giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is definitely a keeper~I'm not much of a beef eater, but this was awesome. I didn't change a thing other than the addition of some onions. I served it with rice and green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Delicious and inexpensive! The extra cooking time is worth it; although I found I needed to add a bit more water towards the end. I did add some additional spices to the flour (crushed red pepper, Nature's Seasoning - this replaced the salt/pepper, and some dry mustard). I also put several slices of red onion on top at the beginning so they caramelized nicely. Gravy is wonderful over rice or potatoes. Perfect dinner for a hungry bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Added onions and mushrooms. Was very good. Melted in your mouth. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy M Parnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States