Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It was so delicious, my family loved it. I added a little cayenne pepper for a small kick....soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Tasted more like fried chicken than steak, but it was enjoyable. My husband hates steak (except for filet mignon) because he hates having to chew each bite 100 times, but he was happy with this steak. I didn't have bouillan cubes, so we used a beef ramen noodle flavor packet. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I didn't care much for the fried chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I tried this recipe as written first time. It was good but..I didn't like how the coating became soft/gummy after simmering. So now, I season up the cube steaks & sear on both sides in a bit of bacon drippings. Then I add beef broth (with 1 T cornstarch mixed in)and thin sliced onions. Cover & bake 2 hours at 325. Works great! Tender and tasty. Inexpensive dinner I did not consider for years as I disliked cube steaks I used to just flour/fry and try to eat. Nice idea although I do this a bit differently then written. Great start though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I cooked this exactly as instructed. I just added yellow peppers for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The cube steak fell apart before I could even flour it. It looked more like hamburger meat than cube "steak". A ring of oil lingered in the frying pan so I ended up straining the liquid after this was done cooking. It tasted OK, a little plain. Not a huge fan this time but I will try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Wow. What a simple easy recipe. The only changes I made were that I didn't add salt, and I used cyan pepper and red pepper flakes and added a slice onion when I added the water. Next time I would brown the meat and before adding the water I would remove most if not all of the oil, otherwise this was fork tender and the gravy was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I thought this was extremely good! After seasoning them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder, I dredged the cube steaks through flour and browned them in the oil. I then took another reviewers suggestion and put them in a crockpot with sliced onions and minced garlic and 3 cups of beef broth. I let them cook for 4 hours on low. They were so tender! I then strained the broth and used that to mix with two brown gravy packets, put the meat mixture back in crockpot on high and poured the gravy mixture back in. I let that cook for about 1/2 hour while stirring and then let it sit on warm. It turned out fantastic. We served it over wide egg noodles. Great recipe! (I then had it for lunch two more days!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tw0810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I did tweek this just a bit. I use garlic roasted mushroom soup mixed with water to pour over the meat after browning. I also baked the steak at 325. Gravy over potatoes is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
These were AMAZING!!! In fact, I am making them again (for the 4th time in a. couple months time). It is tremendously sad to see someone give this recipe a poor rating because 1). Didn't have the proper type of bullion, and 2). Said it didn't specify exactly how much water to add. The recipe calls for enough water to almost cover the top of the meat. To give an exact amount of water in the recipe, we all would have to have the exact same cut and height in meat, and the exact same pan we are cooking them in. Life isn't like that! Lol! Plus, adding enough water to almost cover the meat is fine for this recipe. Again, sad that because of this, it got a poor rating by this person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States