Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My neighbors, hubby and kids all loved this recipe. My first batch (20) rose beautifully in the fridge. However, I rolled it out too thin so there was a crispy outside with nothing in the middle. I used the left over dough for cinnamon rolls (10 -fabulous) and another batch of beignets (40). The left overs don't rise as well after being in the freezer but rolling them out a little thicker sure helped the insides. Not as good as the Disneyland beignets we had last week...but fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice. Not too much work either since you break up the work from the night to the morning. That being said... this did make an awful lot though. 10 servings??? WOW. I found the exact same recipe elsewhere online and it says that it makes FIVE DOZEN. I will probably half this recipe next time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Hey, I used Paula Deen's recipe and they are exactly the same! The thinner you roll the dough squares, the more they puff up. But don't roll the dough out super thin, or the puffs will pop. The beignet themselves aren't really sweet, so add lots of powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe pleased a crowd of beignet-lovers for Christmas breakfast. Thanks so much for the recipe! I am a believer in trying a recipe as it's written when I first make it, and make adjustments in subsequent attempts. But after reading reviewer comments, I did add one teaspoon of vanilla. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I am a Yankee farm girl who married a ragen cajun LOL. I had very little knowledge of traditional New Orleans food. I made these for my husband and asked him what he thought. He danced around and yelled BON BON and gave me a big kiss. He grabbed a plate full a cup of coffee and headed to his favorite chair! He looked like a four year old who just got a puppy for christmas! Guess that about says it all! Thanks so much, you saved my yankee hide! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharpsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was looking for the recipe from The Jazz Kitchen in Downtown Disney and noticed this recipe is very similar to the one posted on The Jazz Kitchen's website. My beignets didn't come out as fluffy or as soft as the one in DTD, but it was still good. Next time, I'm going to add a bit of vanilla (like others have suggested) and 1 more tbs of evaporated milk because my dough came out a little hard and dry. Maybe it's because I used my kitchen aid mixer to blend all the ingredients together...hand mixing dough always comes out with better results. Also, please note that this recipe is massive, even when I halved it. I need suggestions as to what to do with the extra dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Made these today. The only modification I made, other than halving the recipe.. was adding 1 tsp of vanilla. Everyone raved about them!!! My only problem was that some of them didn't puff up. I know that probably had to do w/my inexperience frying things, and I only let them sit in the fridge for about an hr, so I didn't knock a star off. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crsparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The dough could use some spices to bring out a little flavor. I think next time I'll add some lemon or orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
lol in colorado we call these sopapillas and we put honey on them. Beignets were always mentioned in one of my favorite series of books so i had to try and make them. surprisingly very easy and yummy. also if you use a pizza slicer to cut it goes very fast and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy6425

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Delicious!! I make these before I got to enjoy the real thing at Cafe du Monde, while I was enjoying the beignets at the cafe I was amazed at the familiarity, thanks for this recipe! Can't wait to try it with a touch of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States