Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These beignets were wonderful, and the dough had great flavor! I had never eaten a beignet before, and was used to the taste of the Mexican dessert, sopapillas (which haven't much flavor in the dough.) I like these much, much better than sopapillas! I am glad I tried them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is the first time I've made these. They came out with a nice little crunch to it and hollow in the middle. It required a lot of powdered sugar to get sweetness, otherwise they're just little bland puffs. But they're good! A nice glaze will go well on top! I'm going to try a suggestion to bake them with things in it. Also, my dough was in the fridge for a few days! this really puffed up nicely and I have so much left over. Not sure what to do with it beside trying to make cinammon rolls or something. Also, I sprinkled a few with cinammon and powdered sugar. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delish!!!!! I made these with my kids for Fat Tuesday! Seriously yummy! We made the dough last night and the only thing I changed was I added a splash of vanilla. We refrigerated the dough over night and before school this morning they pressed it down to let it rise again. After I picked them up from school this afternoon we rolled our dough out and haven't quit eating them since!! This makes a ton so I bagged up some for family & friends and we are making special deliveries tonight! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Some how mine turned out flat and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
LOVED this recipe - I used butter instead of shortening, and I think the flavor was the better for it. I'm thinking of trying almond and vanilla flavoring in the future, but neither are really necessary. It was so easy to just stir up the batter and have it be ready the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Awesome, the recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These have been a special treat in my family since I was young. We have a family campout every summer & my Mom mixes the dough ahead of time & stores it in a cooler. We use a propane deep fryer to make them outdoors for the 30-40 hungry campers at break-fast time. They're always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The word beignet (pronounced bey-YAY) comes from the early Celtic word bigne meaning "to raise." It is also French for "fritter." Beignets, a New Orleans specialty, are fried, raised pieces of yeast dough, usually about 2 inches in diameter or 2 inches square. After being fried, they are sprinkled with sugar or coated with various icings. No matta how ya do it its yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made beignets one morning and they were very good but had lots of dough sitting in the fridge for more than a week. I read another reviewer who said the dough makes great cinnamon rolls so I decided to try. The dough rolled out beautifully even though it was in the fridge under plastic wrap for at least 10 days. It took a little longer for them to rise but they are in the oven now and looking delicious. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by julkins
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. I have never had beignets before, but this has sold me on them. I suggest making sure they turn dark brown when they are frying to make sure they are cooked inside. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States