Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These didn't last 5 minutes! Great recipe and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
It's a great recipe. Very similar to ones I had before. The dough is sweet but lacks a little something though. Perhaps a half teaspoon of vanilla would help. Only other thing is that the recipe makes an enormous amount of beignets, it says ten servings but I'm not sure what the author's idea of a serving is because I had enough beignets to fill a large brown paper bag over halfway. I just put them in there with the powdered sugar and turned several times to coat them. It makes less of a mess this way. All things considered these came out delicious and I was very pleased. Difficult to stop eating them actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Delicious served with honey (tear off a corner, and drizzle in honey inside).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These beignets were wonderful, and the dough had great flavor! I had never eaten a beignet before, and was used to the taste of the Mexican dessert, sopapillas (which haven't much flavor in the dough.) I like these much, much better than sopapillas! I am glad I tried them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is the first time I've made these. They came out with a nice little crunch to it and hollow in the middle. It required a lot of powdered sugar to get sweetness, otherwise they're just little bland puffs. But they're good! A nice glaze will go well on top! I'm going to try a suggestion to bake them with things in it. Also, my dough was in the fridge for a few days! this really puffed up nicely and I have so much left over. Not sure what to do with it beside trying to make cinammon rolls or something. Also, I sprinkled a few with cinammon and powdered sugar. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delish!!!!! I made these with my kids for Fat Tuesday! Seriously yummy! We made the dough last night and the only thing I changed was I added a splash of vanilla. We refrigerated the dough over night and before school this morning they pressed it down to let it rise again. After I picked them up from school this afternoon we rolled our dough out and haven't quit eating them since!! This makes a ton so I bagged up some for family & friends and we are making special deliveries tonight! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Some how mine turned out flat and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
LOVED this recipe - I used butter instead of shortening, and I think the flavor was the better for it. I'm thinking of trying almond and vanilla flavoring in the future, but neither are really necessary. It was so easy to just stir up the batter and have it be ready the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Awesome, the recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These have been a special treat in my family since I was young. We have a family campout every summer & my Mom mixes the dough ahead of time & stores it in a cooler. We use a propane deep fryer to make them outdoors for the 30-40 hungry campers at break-fast time. They're always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States