Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were easy to make and delicious! Makes way more than the listed amount of servings, but otherwise a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Good recipe. Make sure to let the dough rise atleast once before refrigerating. When youget ready to us it let it warm a bit before frying. Makes big puffy beignets. Served them for Book Club when our monthly choice was "Zeitoun" set in New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent and much more simple than I thought! I dipped them in "Custard Sauce" found on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Another review from a south Louisiana native who knows what a beignet should taste like. This recipe was pretty good, but not the same as cafe du monde in NOLA nor the cajun village in Sorrento. With that in mind, it wasn't worth all the effort. I guess if I'm desperate for beignets, I might make it again someday, but it took at least 2 hours, maybe more, to make dough, roll it out, and then deep fry. Not to mention additional time for kitchen clean up (children + powdered sugar = total mess). Way too much time for me to invest in a recipe that falls short of the real thing. Also, I fried in canola oil, because that was all I had on hand, and I suspect that had something to do with the lack luster results. Vegetable oil probably would give a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Perfection. Just the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone loved these, they were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
SOooooooo goood. Make these! mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Make sure to roll 'em out 1/4 inch, not too thick. Then let 'em rise awhile so they won't be quite so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I tried this on a whim...., and OMG are they ever delicious! I lived in New Orleans when I was a young man and have been to and enjoyed these at The Cafe Du Monde. This is as close as it gets to the originals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mclark1957

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe is heaven. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States