Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
very good when warm easy to prepair whole family loved them will def.will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These turned out great!! I read all reviews before I made them to learn from those who had already. The only change I made to the recipe was adding just a tad of vanilla. I took the advice of someone who reviewed previously and punched the dough down the next morning and gave it another hour to rise. I feared the sticky mess I would create in the kitchen and therefore did not roll and cut the dough. I spooned it out and made in ball forms of about an inch. It made tons! Shared with several neighbors who were all delighted! I made half with powdered sugar and half with cinnamon sugar. Definitely will make again. Next time will try to roll and cut in squares! My hubby is from New Orleans and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Okay. My 3 year old daughter LOVES The Princess & The Frog...she asked if I could make these, so I found this recipe. This was my FIRST ever attempt at both making anything using yeast/rising AND first time ever deep frying! It came out beautifully!!! I didn't have any confectioners' sugar, so I made a granulated sugar/cinnamon mixture to roll them in, it was verrrry good. Almost like a mix between a doughnut and a churro! Also, instead of cutting them into squares, I used a little cup that was about 2" in diameter and just used it like a cookie cutter...this made the process VERY fast! It made about 60-70 beignets. Next time, I'm going to try the powdered sugar. Thanks for the great recipe and for helping me break my yeast and frying phobia, my husband will be very happy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
So Yummy! Way better than the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I'm from New Orleans and have been eating Beignets all my life. This recipe is not even close. This was like bread covered in Powder Sugar. I don't know if I did something wrong, but I was not pleased with the outcome. Gave 1 star only because required to in order to post review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhay Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not have evaporated milk so instead added 1/2 cup dry milk... Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I live in Mexico city and last year my husband and I went to New Orleans to visit our relatives and they took us to the traditional café where the original beignets are served. I loved them and this recipe made me feel like I was there again. But if I'm 100% honest, this recipe is even better. Congratulations!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by TheClanCurry
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Anything French in nature can be daunting...(even French toast for me sometimes)! However, these aren't really that hard to make! Here are some things I learned from this recipe which may seem like a no-brainer to many, but I wasn't really sure having not ever fried in oil before. *Use a quart saucepan - not a frying pan. I know, seems silly, but maybe this will help someone. *I didn't use an entire packet of yeast, but am wondering if it really would have mattered much. It calls for 2 1/4 tsp and there's a bit more than that in the packet. *Don't just wait for the beignets to float to the top, they really need to plump. Make sure you flip them over so one side won't over cook. *Don't cut the pieces too small - they'll cook too quickly and not plump. *I didn't refrigerate the first "test" round and they turned out 90% correct. The second batch - fine - after refrigeration. *Am certain that butter would be fine instead of shortening. It's really just needing the fat component in the recipe at that point. *I used wax paper and a dusting of flour to pat out my dough. I used a pizza cutter to make the squares. *Be sure to use a paper bag with powdered sugar to toss/shake the cooked beignets. Super easy and less mess. Don't use a ziploc - they will stick to the sides. I hope this helps other beignet novices out there! I will make these again each year for Mardi Gras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheClanCurry
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My family absolutely love these. I made them right after we saw The Princess and the Frog, as requested by my 5-yo daughter. They are now a family favorite! I will be making the dough with her this afternoon and then cook them tonite for dessert. Just make sure your oil is NICE and HOT! Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTARALYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We made these for a Super Bowl party - made the dough the night before and fried them during half-time, and everyone loved them - especially the Saints fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States