Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My family absolutely love these. I made them right after we saw The Princess and the Frog, as requested by my 5-yo daughter. They are now a family favorite! I will be making the dough with her this afternoon and then cook them tonite for dessert. Just make sure your oil is NICE and HOT! Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTARALYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We made these for a Super Bowl party - made the dough the night before and fried them during half-time, and everyone loved them - especially the Saints fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geneva
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The best beignet recipe ever!! I tripled the powdered sugar though lol Everyone loved it!!! I'm from New Orleans and this is the closest thing to Cafe DuMonde... I was really missing home when I made these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delcious! The recipe is huge. I would say it makes 100 servings. Don't know what I will do with all the batter! Oh, yes I do. I'll make different shapes, sizes, make some cinnimon rolls. Such a nice fluffy outcome. I did add 2 Tablespoons Cook's Bourbon Vanilla and some Cook's Lemon. Wow! Any favorite flavor will be nice. For a rougher edge when some were about half cooked I removed them and opened them in half and placed them back into the hot oil... mmmm nice and held the powdered sugar so nicely in the crunchy crevices. Be nice to make a thin powdered icing to drizzle over them too... Even Chocolate in it... Drizzle melted chocolate morsels over some.... Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladypeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yummy! I don't have anything to compare this to since I've never had a beignet before. But these are so good. Lightly crispy on the outside and soft and yummy on the inside. I didn't have any evaporated milk and I was out of milk so I used heavy cream, its all I had. Also subbed butter for the shortening. Again because its what I had. The dough is super sticky so make sure that you really flour everything real well or you will frustrate yourself trying to scrape the dough off the table and the rolling pin and yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I was weary of how they would turn out because my dough looked like a mess...but they turned out great! I will definitley be making them again. Delicious and very easy. I also added almond extract to the dough for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
wonderful, light and yummy! i used butter, and they were very good. i used my 'fry-baby', and they cooked up in just minutes. my batch made waaaaay more than i thought it would, so i have followed another reviewers suggestion and made up some cinnamon rolls. they are rising in the fridge to bake off in the morning. thanks for an excellent recipe! UPDATE: the cinnamon rolls were unbelievable! so delicious, yeasty, moist, the best i have ever had. made the beignets again for a large group, and they all raved--especially the ones who had eaten the ones at cafe du monde. thanks so much for this recipe, i am making the dough now for a batch of cinnamon buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I made this recipe with my French students and they were in love! The whole hallway smelled like fried food though and I had to appease the other teachers by giving them lots of samples! I took the advice to let the dough rise again after punching it down the first time. I'm not sure what a difference it really made since it didn't rise much afterwards. I may try to grease the bowl before placing the dough in it to rise. It was difficult to scrape it off the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very close to Cafe Du Monde beignets and very easy to prepare. (Much better than the mix they sell at Cafe Du Monde.) Now I have something to hold me over until the next time I get to New Orleans! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States