Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I surprised my husband with a batch of warm beignets. He was very impressed! The beignets reminded me of the ones from the original Cafe du Monde in New Orleans. I didn't feel the flavor was too bland as some readers suggested, but it does require more powdered sugar then the recipe calls for. I'll probably add a little vanilla to enhance the flavor next time. Sorry I missed the hint about putting the powdered sugar in a brown bag. I had powdered sugar all over my counter and floor. Definitely a keeper! P.S. Since I was unable to use all the dough in one batch, I stored the remainder in the refrigerator overnight. The second batch of beignets came out just as crisp and moist as the first. day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
EXCEPTIONAL RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was quiet an experience. I had to figure out what size worked for me, but they were wonderful when I got the hang of it. I surprised my Zasha with these, as he always talks about "Beignets from Brocato's" in New Orleans, of which he has very fond childhood memories. Against such tough expectations, this recipe measured up. And that's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
What an easy way to finish off any cajun meal. These fried up nice a golden. I put both cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Delicious! I've never heard of these so-called doughnuts before. They taste a bit bland without the sugar, but once you top 'em with it, great! I roll them in sugar while they're still warm so the sugar sticks to the doughnuts better. I love it that way. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Definitely will make again :0) *** update: this time i kicked it up a notch by coat the beignets with powdered sugar blitzed with nuts and cinnamon. they were superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was a great substitute recipe. I usually buy the mix from a local dealer that handles Cafe du Monde products. They were out of the mix due to the hurricane and so I tried this recipe. Very yummy. My only suggestion would be to put the powdered sugar in a brown lunch bag, place the beignets in the bag and shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Great! Reminded my husband and me of sitting at Cafe du Monde in the Big Easy. Only thing is, as written, the beignets are a little bland. I added 1 cup of confectioners sugar. Maybe a little vanilla extract would help, too? But, the texture is to die for, so I still give it 5 stars. Oh, also, it doesn't seem to make sense to put a yeast dish in the fridge, but don't worry. The yeast is more for the yeasty flavor than the rising ability. I put it in the fridge overnight and it still rose a little. Also, don't be afraid to add up to an extra cup of flour to make it into a workable dough--it didn't affect the quality of mine at all. Thanks for a great version of this secret recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Wow!!!! These were sooooooooooo yummy!! I'm catering a series of dinners, and we had a Mardi-Gras themed dinner on Mardi Gras (duh), and I couldn't figure out what to make for dessert. Then I came across this recipe! How could I forget beignets? I made a double batch of the dough, put it in the fridge, and then rolled them out and fried them out fresh at the dinner. They were a monster hit. However, the recipe serving size is waaaaay off! I almost made a triple recipe because I was cooking for 50-60 people. I'm glad I only made a double recipe! I was frying up beignets for over an hour, and probably got 150 - 200 out of this, if I had to guess. But don't worry, every last one got eaten about 20 seconds after getting dusted with powdered sugar :) I did add a touch of cinnamon to the powdered sugar. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
excellent recipe! the only change I made was to put more than enough powdered sugar in a brown paper bag, put each beignet into the bag after sitting on paper towels, and shake them so that they are completely covered in the sugar. it's hard to be cafe du monde, but these are still wonderful and reminiscent of the originals. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States