Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
LOVED this recipe - I used butter instead of shortening, and I think the flavor was the better for it. I'm thinking of trying almond and vanilla flavoring in the future, but neither are really necessary. It was so easy to just stir up the batter and have it be ready the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Awesome, the recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These have been a special treat in my family since I was young. We have a family campout every summer & my Mom mixes the dough ahead of time & stores it in a cooler. We use a propane deep fryer to make them outdoors for the 30-40 hungry campers at break-fast time. They're always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The word beignet (pronounced bey-YAY) comes from the early Celtic word bigne meaning "to raise." It is also French for "fritter." Beignets, a New Orleans specialty, are fried, raised pieces of yeast dough, usually about 2 inches in diameter or 2 inches square. After being fried, they are sprinkled with sugar or coated with various icings. No matta how ya do it its yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made beignets one morning and they were very good but had lots of dough sitting in the fridge for more than a week. I read another reviewer who said the dough makes great cinnamon rolls so I decided to try. The dough rolled out beautifully even though it was in the fridge under plastic wrap for at least 10 days. It took a little longer for them to rise but they are in the oven now and looking delicious. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by julkins
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. I have never had beignets before, but this has sold me on them. I suggest making sure they turn dark brown when they are frying to make sure they are cooked inside. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My neighbors, hubby and kids all loved this recipe. My first batch (20) rose beautifully in the fridge. However, I rolled it out too thin so there was a crispy outside with nothing in the middle. I used the left over dough for cinnamon rolls (10 -fabulous) and another batch of beignets (40). The left overs don't rise as well after being in the freezer but rolling them out a little thicker sure helped the insides. Not as good as the Disneyland beignets we had last week...but fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice. Not too much work either since you break up the work from the night to the morning. That being said... this did make an awful lot though. 10 servings??? WOW. I found the exact same recipe elsewhere online and it says that it makes FIVE DOZEN. I will probably half this recipe next time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Hey, I used Paula Deen's recipe and they are exactly the same! The thinner you roll the dough squares, the more they puff up. But don't roll the dough out super thin, or the puffs will pop. The beignet themselves aren't really sweet, so add lots of powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe pleased a crowd of beignet-lovers for Christmas breakfast. Thanks so much for the recipe! I am a believer in trying a recipe as it's written when I first make it, and make adjustments in subsequent attempts. But after reading reviewer comments, I did add one teaspoon of vanilla. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States