Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made up up several mixes of this bread and gave them as gifts with cooking instructions and a can of beer. I weighed the flour on my food scale to make it go faster. According the flour nutrition label, 372 grams of flour is equal to 3 cups of flour. HOWEVER when I measured 3 cups of flour with a measuring cup and then weighed those 3 cups I found it to weigh almost 100 grams more. I attribute that to the flour getting packed in the measuring cup as I scoop it out of the bag. This discovery poses the question... is this recipe intended to use sifted flour (or weighed flour) or flour that was simply scooped out of the bag? I chose to use about 390 grams of flour per loaf mix and 1/3 cup sugar. I placed the mix in a quart size baggie then inside a lunch size paper bag. I attached a sticker label I created with the baking instructions and an expiration date based on the expiration date of the self-rising flour. I also included in the baking instructions to top bread with 3 tablespoons melted butter before baking. I made a sample loaf for me to try before I handed out my gifts and it was fabulous! This is a super cheap and easy recipe and makes great gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FluffySama
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I had some time today, and some left over Guinness in the fridge, so I thought I'd make some beer bread. When it comes to ease, you can't bake any easier than this! I had the ingredients sifted and mixed together and then added in the Guinness and took all of 10 minutes to get some nice batter. I made some of the suggested changes and used 1/3 cup of sugar, and I made my own self-starting flour by adding a tsp powder and a half tsp salt for every cup of flour (so adding 3 tsp baking powder, 1.5tsp salt). I also let them sit while my oven preheated but there wasn't much rising (!!!). After about 50 minutes in the oven I melted some butter (half a stick) and then brushed it on the top and put the bread back in for another 5 minutes or so (I used different types of pans and wasn't keeping track of time at that point). I have a lot of trouble with mixing ingredients "until moist" (which is what you do with beer breads), so I figured I might have overmixed this when I let it sit to rise a bit and it didn't. In fact, it didn't even rise much in the oven D: That said, the crust is delightfully crunchy and the insides are SO SOFT and spongy, it's really wonderful. I'm pretty sure overmixing and splitting the batter to let it rise a bit caused my problems. Even so, good recipe! I'm planning on trying it again with 4loko (goodness help me). Definitely would recommend it to others looking for a hearty, savory bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used a bottle of killians beer.Dark beer is the key here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I seem to be a failure at making bread with yeast, so this is my go-to bread. So easy and tasty! Its so easy to add other ingredients to change the taste of the bread (garlic and Italian seasoning, cheddar cheese and jalapenos, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Loved this. Crispy outside, moist inside. I used AP flour (added 1 tablespoon baking soda and 1-1/2 teaspoons sea salt) and 1/4 cup of sugar. I let the beer come to room temperature before using. I rubbed the top of the loaf with the end of a stick of butter as soon as I took it out of the oven. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Perfectly easy and delicious when served hot/warm with dill dip! This is the way I've always done Beer Bread and my whole family loves it! I was very glad to find such an easy recipe! I take it out of the oven, butter the top and immediately turn it out onto a platter, butter the remaining crust and break it up into bite size pieces. Then, dunk into dill dip and wow! Yum! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marti
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Amazing! I added 1/3 cup sugar and cinnamon to the batter, poured melted butter on top before baking, as suggested, baked 45minutes at 375*, then poured more melted butter on top after baking and sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon!!! Great breakfast bread, as sooo easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNE102371

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Have made this recipe twice with excellent results both times for a slight difference try a dark beer,i just made 4 loaves today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Like Margaux below, I discovered by accident that the texture of the bread is better if I let the dough (or, more accurately, batter) sit before baking. I don't bother kneading since this falls into the category of a "quick bread", really. One can tweak with additions of shredded sharp cheddar and jalapenos and bake as muffins (adjust baking time accordingly) as a wonderful accompaniment to chili. Just fold in those extra ingredients after mixing the batter. Oh, must comment. This beer bread will make your kitchen smell heavenly while it's baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I rubbed butter on the top of mine after it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States