Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was SUPER easy and very good. My whole family loved it. I made it with Leienkugles Orange Shandy. I would like to try it with Honey Weiss. Would be awesome paired with some Beer Cheese soup! I followed the directions as they were are baked for 35 minutes. Top was crusty and the sides were soft. The only tricky part was slicing it as the top tending to break apart when cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Been making my own yeast breads lately as I try to get away from all packaged items, but there are times that this is a bit intrusive upon a busy schedule. When I saw this, I figured it was worth a try, but I have to agree with others: when you review a recipe, do it based on the recipe as written. As written, this is GREAT. Simple as can be, flavorful, etc. I used Budweiser, as it's neither heavy nor light. (I actually had to buy beer, as we never have it in the house.) I baked it, took it out, brushed with butter (okay, I guess I diverged from the original just a little), and then took off for errands. I had it with my chicken cacciatore for dinner. Perfect. Honestly, you really don't need to change a darned thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I didn't have self rising flour so added 4tsp of baking soda and some salt. Easy recipe delicious results! I haven't had beer bread in years, when it showed up in an email from allrecipes I couldn't resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was one of the easiest recipes i have come across.The flavor was light and hearty at the same time.After making it once I can see where different seasonings may be added to take it to another level.I will try some turmeric/garlic powder & freshly cracked black pepper, in sparing amounts of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Didn't have the self-rising flour so I used the all purpose flour + baking powder (3 tsp total) and + sale (1.5 tsp total) and it worked perfectly! Used a can of Coors Light. Went great with my Beef Barley Soup! Didn't get 5 stars just because I so love yeast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Delicious and three ingredients! 'Nuf said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Easy to do. Came out perfect for me. We paired with the Lentil Soup. Yum! Not sure why but the ingredients made a batter not dough. Spooned it into pan. Melted butter on top at 45 mins. And baked for 10 more. Will do again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Just made this bread today. Like one suggested, I used all purpose flour + baking soda + salt instead of self rising flour. I only had light beer on hand, so I used that. The bread got two thumbs up from both my husband and daughter.Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I took all the recommendations to heart and added 3 tsp of gluten powder to the flour and sugar and 2 tsp of lecithin to the beer before putting them all together. The gluten to combat the crumbling effect and the lecithin so it will keep til tomorrow. I bake a few loaves of bread several times per month so I keep these supplies on hand. They really worked great in this recipe. If you don't bake regularly but you want to try these, they will keep on your shelf. Wrap the gluten tightly in plastic; remove the label from the box & stick it into the bag. Lecithin is a natural ingredient that has the viscosity of molasses so I heat the jar in a bowl of hot water then pour what I need into a spoon. One jar will keep for many ages so don't worry about a shelf life on it. This is a recipe I will keep for when I want a quick bread and don't want to bake more than 1 loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have also used this recipe for years now as it is a South African favourite. You can literally add anything to the mix; cheese, various herbs, sweetcorn, bacon bits, paprika, feta cheese, onions or even pie apples with spring onion. Be adventurous and try different flavours everytime you bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States