Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I hadn't made beer bread for a while so I looked it up on this site. Same ol great bread but I subbed in about a half cup of ground (I use my coffee grinder) oatmeal to make it a little healthier. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I liked this recipe. My husband loved it. I made it as written and decided we like it better with a few changes (increased sugar to 1/3 cup, added handful of sharp cheddar, used a bigger pan and let rise for 45-60 minutes before baking, basted with butter and garlic salt 1/2 way thru baking and at the end (from other reviewers)) definatly a 5 star recipe. I rated 5 star even though I had to make changes to the original recipe because of the ease and quickness of making the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this into Cinnamon Bread using 1/3 C. of sugar and all-purpose flour with 3 tsp. of baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also added just shy of 1 tsp of cinnamon (recommended by a co-worker). I made a half batch of cream cheese icing (found on allrecipes as "cinnamon bun icing") Soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I was raised on Beer Bread....the simple way - Remember the number "3" - it takes 3 cups of flour (self rising, or make your own self rising by reading others reviews) - 1/"3" cup sugar - and one beer (your choice). I do like the idea of playing around with imports and ciders however I was always taught to take the beer out of the fridge early and let it go a little flat (a few hours) - Then bake at "3"50 for an hour. First "3"0 minutes let the course run.... the next "3" minutes baste with butter (real butter) on the top of the bread every 10 minutes.....full cooking time -1 hour - It is best served fresh out of the oven, however I have made croutons with my left overs and the family raves about those on salads.....Just another thought!!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
It was good, now WOW, but good. Fast, simple, good for a quick bread. I used the 1/3 c sugar as other readers suggested, maybe a little sweeter than what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Couldn't be easier or more delicious! I did use the recommended 1/3 c of sugar. I used a honey wheat beer which gave it a delicious flavor! A go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I'm not sure if it's the beer I used but I won't try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Quick easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
perfect basic recipe-the only change i feel is crucial is to top it with butter before baking. otherwise this recipe is not only great on it's own, it's perfect to customize. i like to add cheddar cheese, garlic salt, and green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This bread is very tasty. I made mine using wholewheat bread flour. My 1st attempt was a flop as I doubled the recipe to try and make a full size loaf. The bread just wouldn't cook. I baked it for approx 1 1/2hrs before giving up. The taste was very good and the kids really liked the flavour, so I tried it again. This time only making one loaf and allowing it to rise for 1/2hr, adding 2 1/2tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt, I cooked it for 60 min. It was delicious. I'll make it again using my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States