Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have also used this recipe for years now as it is a South African favourite. You can literally add anything to the mix; cheese, various herbs, sweetcorn, bacon bits, paprika, feta cheese, onions or even pie apples with spring onion. Be adventurous and try different flavours everytime you bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is one of the easiest & best quick bread recipes. I've been making it for 30 plus years. Just mix the 3 ingredients together & bake in loaf pan. Goes well with soups & is even better if you have left overs & toast in toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe was very straightforward and turned out great! I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My wife used to make the Tastefully Simple beer bread for years and everyone always liked it. She wanted a less expensive, easy version so we tried this one. She increased the sugar to 1/3 cup. She replaced the self rising flour with 3 cups all purpose flour, 3 tsp baking powder, and 1 1/2 tsp salt. This is a great and very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is a great base to go from when making beer bread. It's my go to bread recipe, period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I'm not sure if this is a fair rating. I'm not a beer drinker, I used a bottle of beer (Lagunitas) that my friend left at the house. It still had a beer taste and yet also bland at the same time. However this was really quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I just made this, after reading msny of the reviews: FANTASTIC! FLAWLESS!! The only modifacations I made, based on the reviewd i read, were to add 4 tbls sugar instead of three, and I plopped the dough into the middle of a 9x13 pan. I basted it with melted butter halfway through the 50 minutes, and again five minutes before taking it out of the oven, when i also sprinkled it with roughly grated fresh parmesan. It came out GORGEOUS, moist, perfect!! I used Hertog Jan for the beer and self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tried this with pumpkin beer... very good. I am excited to try it with other flavors too... I didn't have the self rising flour but thanks to the other ratings, I was able to substitute. PS... makes awesome but crumbly ham sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLee1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This bread was not good for me.....I loved it so much that I eat an entire loaf!! I made 2 mini loafs, baked for 50 minutes and it was perfect. My diet can't take much of this awesome bread! Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is my favorite go-to recipe for a quick bread, so simple I've even got it memorized and am asked for the recipe often. We even take it on vacation - I just mix the dry ingredients (using the tips for making homemade self-rising flour) in a gallon ziplock baggie, mark the temp & time to cook on the bag, then mix a bottle of beer right in the baggie, squeeze into a pan and bake. I've even made it without a loaf pan - the dough is thick enough you can make a mounded "artisanal" loaf right on a greased cookie sheet. If I have butter I put it on top - but just put a couple of pats right on top. Why dirty an extra dish to melt it when you're putting it in a hot oven? Thanks so much for the simple, wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States