Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This bread was not good for me.....I loved it so much that I eat an entire loaf!! I made 2 mini loafs, baked for 50 minutes and it was perfect. My diet can't take much of this awesome bread! Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is my favorite go-to recipe for a quick bread, so simple I've even got it memorized and am asked for the recipe often. We even take it on vacation - I just mix the dry ingredients (using the tips for making homemade self-rising flour) in a gallon ziplock baggie, mark the temp & time to cook on the bag, then mix a bottle of beer right in the baggie, squeeze into a pan and bake. I've even made it without a loaf pan - the dough is thick enough you can make a mounded "artisanal" loaf right on a greased cookie sheet. If I have butter I put it on top - but just put a couple of pats right on top. Why dirty an extra dish to melt it when you're putting it in a hot oven? Thanks so much for the simple, wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
great easy recipe. My family enjoys eating it right out of the oven with some butter. If there is any left over (which is rare) we toast it with butter for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
5 stars as written. I wouldn't recommend a very dark beer for this recipe though. I did not have self rising flour the first time I made it and used the suggestions for substituting. It was not good. Very hard and dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Not quite like Tastefully simple. I followed the recipe exactly. I bake a lot, I thought this was kind of dry, but tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Used 1/3 C of suger as recommended by other reviewers. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yes, this recipe is a MUST TRY. It is beyond simple, and even though I hate beer, I find this bread is fantastic. I used a can of bud light... A friend of mine said the cheaper the beer the better, lol... Who knows... I might experiment with a dark beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easiest... recipe... ever. To spice it up a bit I made one batch with honey butter on top and one batch with 1 tsp rosemary and 3/4 tsp garlic powder and about a handful of parmesean cheese with more cheese sprinkled on top. The tops become very, very crusty upon cooking. I let mine cool mostly and then put them in ziploc bags. This distributes moisture and makes them less crusty. Pro Tip: I made these in a muffin pan and they were great individual little loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I would definitely make this again. Used Miller Lite that was one week away from expiring. Didnt have self rising flour so I made my own by adding 1.5tsp baking powder and .5tsp salt for each cup of flour I used. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. There was plenty of flavor, texture was slightly crumbly but firm, and a great crusty crust! No specific negatives, but an overall of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I like this because it leaves out the butter that clogs up other recipes....although butter tastes great, it doesn't fit my diet. I added three green onions, chopped. Sprinkled 1 T grated cheddar on top. Great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkinpowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States