Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. It came out perfect. Perfectly moist on the inside and a wonderful cruch on the outside. I made it around the holidays and added some nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves and chopped walnuts and used a fall beer such as Oktoberfest or a Pumpkin Ale. I also made this with a Christmas beer and added nutmeg, cinnamon and cranberries. I've also used Christmas beer and chocolate chips and pecans... The possibilities are endless. Just a classic, simple recipe that anyone can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Still looking for the ultimate beer bread. This isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
not really great. maybe I will try it again. I know dough can be ficky to work with. Not as flavorful as I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Very close to Tastefully Simple recipe. I was having a pregnancy craving and couldn't wait for my order to come in! I took the advice of other's since I did not have self rising flour and added the 1T baking power and 1tsp of salt. Also added a few more spices (21 seasoning solute from Trader Joe's) I felt like it needs more flavor to me. Maybe next time I will go with dark beer and add cheese! I look forward to giving it another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used 1/3c. of sugar as suggested by others and melted 2 Tblsps. of butter, brushing over the top half way through baking time. Served with Spinach Dip. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was my first time baking beer bread and it turned out perfectly! I made self-rising flour based on another reviewer's suggestion (1 c flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt) and substituted brown sugar for white sugar. I mixed the dough first with a spoon and then with my hands, and let it sit in the baking pan for a half hour before baking it. I also ran a stick of butter after baking it for 50 minutes and let it bake for an additional 10 minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
As others have stated, they've been making this for years as have I. My only change was to brush the top with butter 10 minutes before the baking process is complete. I do like the other suggestions on letting it stand 30 minutes before baking to lighten it a bit and how to make your own self-rising flour if it does not reside in your pantry (As an aside: I use 1 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt per cup of all purpose flour used). Thank you Jodi for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I went with some suggestions to increase the sugar to 1/3 cup and to drizzle melted butter to the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was fantastic, but I made a few changes. I increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, added 6 tablespoons of butter, and used homemade ginger beer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
way too bland as written, no one even finished their 1st slice... and my family love bread! Made a 2nd time with 1/3 cup sugar and added onion, garlic and italian seasoning and was much better. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States