Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wasn't expecting anything great.. But this recipe turned out to be the best stew I have ever made! The entire family raved about it! Very flavorful! I followed the recipe, as stated. However, i did use a couple extra teaspoons of flour for a thicker stew. Next time, I will add the potatoes later in the recipe, or use the new potatoes, as stated by other reviewers. No extra salt needed. Give it a try! Hope you enjoy it as much as my family and I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I found this to be mediocre. I'm not sure what it is, but I think I'll keep looking for a better beef stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Best stew I ever made! I did add mushrooms and cooked in a crock pot over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My boyfriend raves about this asking me to make it almost every week lol I love the rosemary, it looked and tasted like a real chef made it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very tasty and easy!! I did make a few changes and added garlic instead of rosemary and put in just a pinch of dried parsley. I also added a few bayleaves. I didnt have cornstarch on hand so i used flour instead. I started with 1Tbsp dissolved in water and gradually added it in. I did find tht it was too thin for my liking, so i did another Tbsp of flour dissolved in water. I let it simmer for a few minutes and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Love reading the comments. Everyone gives it a 5 star rating and then tells about all the changes. For starters, we never use bouillon cubes. I just used water to deglaze the pan and added a shake of Worcestershire sauce. This turned out just fine. Actually, this is pretty much the recipe I use for stew all the time, but I mostly make it with lamb. One can also add parsnips or turnips, if desired. But potatoes, onions, carrots and celery are required at a minimum. I would never add garlic to this. Good with a salad and some fresh baked bread or on noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is the best beef stew I've ever had. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this a few times now and absolutely love it. 1 hour once veggies are added I found was just not enough, potatoes especially were still crunchy. Best result was putting on in the morning and let simmer a good long while. Also fantastic, if not better, the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Love it! I did the same as most and used the flour mixture, added some cloves of garlic while simmering, also omitted the celery and added portabella mushrooms instead. Added more cornstarch and water, also added ketchup and worcestershire sauce. We had flaky biscuits with it! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good recipe, but I did dress it up just a little via some of the reviews. I tossed the meat in 1/4 cup flour with 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, and half of the black pepper (1/4 teaspoon); I browned it in 2 tablespoons oil (1 less than the recipe called for) and deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup red wine. I increased the potatoes to 6 medium (I used red ones with skin) and also increased the carrots to 6 medium. I added 2 bay leaves and a dried Japanese red pepper (with half of the seeds removed) along with the other dried herbs. I also increased the cornstarch to 1.5 tablespoons and left the lid off during the last 15 minutes, per the uploader's instructions; the added flour and potato also helped to thicken the final product, as did a little resting time. It turned out very nice and will be a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States