Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I'm rating this 5 stars because it tastes great and is very simple. We just upscaled this recipe to feed about 125 servings plus added more water and boullion to give us enough extra gravy to stretch further if need be. It came out great even at that scale and was simple enough to prepare for such a large crowd. The only thing we had to be careful of as we increased our gravy amount was making sure the saltiness of the boullion cube didn't take over, but we found it didn't in our case. Our meat was nice and tender but we did cook the stew a lot longer than the recipe due to the extra large pots and the need to get it started early in the day. Other than that the proportions of ingredients and seasonings and everything else was per the recipe (although we did chop the celery into smaller pieces, about 1/2 inch). For at home, I might add in some extra veggies of different sorts for a change but I found the seasoning to be really good and we got rave reviews at our event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Really good! I added more cornstarch like others suggested, but don't know if it really needed it. I am saving this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
The stew was very good. I made a few changes by doubling the carrots and celery and eliminating the potatoes , we like egg noodles with stew". I also used two quart containers of beef stock instead of bouillon cubes and added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Next time I'll leave out or decrease the Rosemary. Some one said gravy was too thin, well I thicken it till it is what we like, all personal choices. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
My family liked this stew. I did shake the meat in flour, garlic powder and onion powder before browning as others suggested, and I used beef broth since that's what I had on hand and I cooked it in the crock pot. The meat was so moist and tender and the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Simple and delicious! I did add a can of corn and a can of green beans at my husband's behest. I never use bouillon cubes, but a beef bouillon paste/base. I also used grass-fed beef stew meat, fresh parsley and organic veggies which, I believe, made it taste better. But, as usual, my husband thinks I'm crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. I add a little red wine. However, it's delicious with or without the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
great recipe! My hubby doesn't like stew usually, but loved this recipe. I put it altogether in my crockpot before I left for work and it was ready when I got back 8 hours later (on low). Otherwise, my changes were minor, I added a little bit of salt as I too did not use boullion. My husband is diabetic so I used a sweet potato instead of a regular white or red potato, but it was perfect! I'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I use baby potatoes and cut them in two, all ready cut carrots and washed and green beans and onions. I put 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I love this stew. My husband and dog loves it too. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good. The only thing that I did different, I left out the celery(do not like it). Otherwise made as is, very, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States