Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Fantastic. Decided not to add veggies but put over mashed potatoes and the combo was sublime. Great for a snow day. Makes house smell divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Added bay leaves. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is an awesome stew template to follow. This was the first stew I ever made and I found it simple. The first time I used this recipe I found it to be way too salty, so I cut down on the bouillon the second time. I also used a flour and milk mixture in addition to some low fat sour cream I had in the fridge instead of cornstarch. This thickened it up nicely and made a beautiful gravy. I'm not sure if I cut my vegetables too small, but I found that even half an hour of simmering with the veggies left them mushy, never mind the suggested 1 hr. I also added worcestershire sauce as well as basil and garlic. I'll definitely be making this again - third time's a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
No changes except I'm not crazy about celery so I only used two stalks and still very tastey and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent stew! I took heed of other reviewers' notes and used half a cup of red wine to deglaze the pan, and I also used fresh rosemary (an entire package). I also enjoy parsnips in my stew, so I added 3 to the vegetables. One thing I found, however, was that the stew was too salty, so next time I try this I will use 3 bouillon cubes instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Golding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent. I did my best to follow, but made a few additions along the way. I quadrupled the amount of cornstarch, added an extra cup of broth, a few shakes of dried chili pepper seeds (a nice "bite"), a small handful of cilantro toward the end (lots of flavor), a cup of wine, and a squirt of ketchup. I fished some of the celery out and tossed them because they seemed to be taking over. My (critical) boyfriend said it was incredible, didn't hesitate when I asked if I couple put some in a bowl for work the next day (he usually goes out for lunch so what an honor!) and was befuddled that he wasn't a carrot eater but loved them in this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The BEST beef stew I've eaten! I did lightly flour the beef cubes, and added more cornstarch than the recipe called for. I cooked the 2nd part of the recipe for 1 1/2 hours, since the veggies were still not fully cooked. But, it turned out great and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was very very good. Followed other reviewers tips, added more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
First time making beef stew - very easy and turned out delicious the whole family loved it! I followed the directions except substituted a half cup of red wine instead of water = 3 1/2 cups water & 1/2 cup wine. Also like most of the other recipe notes I had to triple the amount of cornstarch added to make the broth thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I thought this was terrific. Made a couple of small changes. I used only one pound of beef, but to make up the difference in volume I added a potato and a drained can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States