Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent. I did my best to follow, but made a few additions along the way. I quadrupled the amount of cornstarch, added an extra cup of broth, a few shakes of dried chili pepper seeds (a nice "bite"), a small handful of cilantro toward the end (lots of flavor), a cup of wine, and a squirt of ketchup. I fished some of the celery out and tossed them because they seemed to be taking over. My (critical) boyfriend said it was incredible, didn't hesitate when I asked if I couple put some in a bowl for work the next day (he usually goes out for lunch so what an honor!) and was befuddled that he wasn't a carrot eater but loved them in this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The BEST beef stew I've eaten! I did lightly flour the beef cubes, and added more cornstarch than the recipe called for. I cooked the 2nd part of the recipe for 1 1/2 hours, since the veggies were still not fully cooked. But, it turned out great and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was very very good. Followed other reviewers tips, added more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
First time making beef stew - very easy and turned out delicious the whole family loved it! I followed the directions except substituted a half cup of red wine instead of water = 3 1/2 cups water & 1/2 cup wine. Also like most of the other recipe notes I had to triple the amount of cornstarch added to make the broth thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I thought this was terrific. Made a couple of small changes. I used only one pound of beef, but to make up the difference in volume I added a potato and a drained can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
We made up a roast, which was a lot for the two of us. So we repurposed some of the leftovers into a smaller portion of this stew. It was very tasty, and brought new life to our leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! Anytime I make beef stew I go straight to this recipe! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
add celery and carrots before potatoes, so the potatoes don't get too soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Not bad. For me there was too much Rosemary. I did a few of the adjustments. Some flour, garlic and onion powder, and a little wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good...made it just like it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States