Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good stew. I added the cornstarch mixture at the end and not with the vegetables and I didn't have any trouble with the thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
the potatoes mashed up too much and became part of the gravy which ruined it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalia El-guindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I used beef broth and wine, instead of water. I also added beef consummate with lots of garlic. I cooked some of the celery, carrots and onion after browning the meat to season them. Salt, pepper, rosemary, and garlic for each layer. I cooked potatoes separately as I never like the flavor they leave in the stew. This was without a doubt the best stew ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I made this on yesterday. Oh my it was YUM! So thanks Paula for this recipe, I look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe is amazingly tasty! I added a few dumplings at the end though did not alter the original recipe...it's perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Love this recipe!! Made it as is except added a bit of garlic powder and omitted the celery and added a cup of frozen peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
OMG.. Just awesome.. I cut this recipe in half. I only had 1lbs of VENISON stew meat.. Followed it to a T. But in step 2 I did add a 1/2 can of beef broth and few dried garlic chips.. And continue to cook it for an hour .. only because I like mine a little bit more on the soup consistency side.. Cooked it down with a little more corn starch .. Just wow.. Meat was tender and the seasoning added just the perfect aroma.. My kids and husband was in heaven.. It's keeper .. Thank you so much for such a simple on hand recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was a great meal. We omitted the carrots and celery but kept everything else + a little more seasoning. The gravy was a bit thin so we added some flour at the very end and that fixed it right up. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is the recipe that finally got me to add an opinion. Been a long-time member, but never contributed. If more stars could be added, I would give it the highest rating. Absolutely easy, totally de-lish, very satisfying. My husband raved about it for days, and is always ready to have it any time. I did fry the meat with flour and garlic before starting off. For someone who is simply not into cooking, this is my fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It reminded me of the stew my mom made when I was little. It was perfect! Needed a little thickening at the end, but nothing a little roux couldn't fix. So tasty. Definitely going to be a highlight in our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States