Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Simpler IS better! 'Respect the meat'! I was always a 'chuck-roast-with-2-soups' or 'throw-some-wine-in-it' kinda guy. The Mrs. (NE native) had just bought a 3.6 lb. chuck roast & said, "I just want a roast that tastes like meat!" I went on AR & found this one & followed the original recipe. HOLY SCHNIKES! This NAILED it for both me & the Mrs.!!! FOLLOW THE RECIPE VERBATIM!!! It's awesome AND you'll have really CLEAN meat for leftovers! Whether you want simple roast beef sandwiches or if you want to throw in soups or wine, noodles or veggies, you'll have the PERFECT starter-base BEEF for your leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
If you make this beef the day before as recommended, how do you reheat it? I dislike meat heated in mic and wouldn't want to dry it out in oven. Just wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was SOOOO good. Way better than any slow cooker roast I've done. Full of flavor and so tender. My family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly until the end. Then I took the meat and excess onions out to use the sauce for deglazing. I added 1/3 cup of red wine, mushrooms, salt and pepper and rounded it out with butter to have a french sauce at the end. I poured the sauce on top of the meat and onions. It looked so luxurious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious and easy...tho I did add a little broth and carrots. Agree with review stating that it comes out better with a better piece of meat - if you are in Northern Ca look up Victorian Farmstead Meats - guy's name is Adam, lots of great cooking tips from him too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
added around a cup of red wine. I died and went to heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is delicious. I followed the recipe and it came out beautifully. The onions and garlic made a wonderful gravy with a little cornstarch. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My husband is a meat and potatoes guy and loves old fashion cooking. He loved this dinner. I added carrots and celery to the dutch oven and a few fresh springs of rosemary. I also took the suggestion of another user and cooked off the little bits with cooking wine. Made some mashed potatoes to go with and it was a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTMiller75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was a super easy and yet delicious meal! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious! Perfect Pot Roast. Did substitute salt and pepper with Monterey Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe was awesome !!! Made a mistake by diluting the soup with water but just needed to add some cornstarch & water to thicken the gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States