Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very dense and tasty. Excellent base recipe that you can augment with spices or nuts, raisins etc. You do need about 5 bananas. I took others' advice and was careful to just blend in the flour, then switch to wooden spoon to mix in any nuts/dried fruit. I also added about 1 tsp cinnamon, half tsp nutmeg & vanilla, and dashes of clove & allspice. I always add walnuts. I have also added dried craisins and chocolate chips (half bag)--husband and stepson inhaled most of the loaf in a day. Thank you for a great kitchen standby recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Love it as called for! Trying it this round with 1tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Oh and for a guilty please 3/4 cup walnuts and 3/4 cup chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I love this recipe! It is quick and easy but best of all it tastes great! I really love all the banana flavor. I added raisins to mine because I like to do that. It really is good! I will use this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out really well. It was my first time making banana bread and I couldn't believe how easy it actually is. I'll be making it again for sure. I did what someone else mentioned and brushed on top a mixture of brown sugar and water. I did that at the last 20 minutes and that small addition made the already delicious top even better! My bf's 15 year old son ate it and said it was pretty good, but then after he said, "it wasn't that good.. I actually don't like it at all.. Mom makes it better." I told him I'd like to try a banana bread that tastes better than this because this is amazing as it is... I think he's a little full of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kashjann11
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My friend made this one day and I loved it so much I had to ask for the recipe!! And so moist and simple! I topped mine off with walnut and choc chip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I was looking for a simple recipe that didn't call for sour cream so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. So glad I did! I did add some cinnamon, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I found it to be moist and delicious. This one's a keeper. Thanks for sharing Shelley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is the only banana bread I make. It's wonderfully versatile and forgives all kinds of substitutions - apple sauce for some of the butter, whole wheat for some of the white flour, etc. I also add sliced almonds, raisins, chocolate chips, etc - depending on what I have in my pantry at the moment. Finally, for ease of sharing with friends and colleagues, I make them into mini-muffins instead of a loaf. Always a favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Singh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! I've been using it for years and it's one of my regular stand-bys. I almost have it committed to memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Begg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious, my first attempt ever at a banana bread. I only had about 1/3 cup of brown sugar so I substituted white sugar for the remainder, and only put in 4 rotten bananas but my kids said it was awesome. 55 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Nacu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 8,219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States