Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe & tastes just like what we had in Greece & Turkey (moreso in Turkey, the shops are everywhere, with Turkish Delight!)...never mind the syrup is thin, it's better after it has cooled & soaked for a day (store at room temp) & there is no trace of syrup left because it has all soaked in! Thank you for sharing this great recipe! I hint of orange or lemon zest might add an interesting essence, I'll have to try it, but it's delicious without & I never noticed orange or lemon flavor in Turkey or Greece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I don't have any tips to add, but for the baklava/phyllo rookies like me, don't worry if the phyllo breaks or tears doesn't fold right as you assemble. It still turns out great and you can't tell after it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANVASWRITER
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Make the sauce first, in fridge. I also make 1 1/2 times sauce. Also add1/2 tsp. of Almond extract with vanilla. Pulse the nuts in food processor. Add 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon, dash of nutmeg and cloves to the nut mixture. I use one of the two packages of Phyllo dough first, leaving the other in the refrigerator still in it's plastic wrap. I don't bother with the towel/plastic wrap, I work quickly so the dough doesn't dry out. When I'm done with the first package, I take out the second and do the same. I have found I need about three sticks of butter when buttering the leaves of dough. I use a 2 inch brush, and I hold the corners and do the Outside of the leaves first which locks down the leaf then I quickly do the insides. Don't cut all the way to the bottom, about 1/2 inch from the bottom so the liquid doesn't sit in the bottom of the pan and bottom is still crisp. Don't use too much butter, that is another cause for sogginess. Pour cooled sauce on the hot Baklava and let sit cool, Finish cutting all the way through. Store in a shallow cardboard box lined with parchment I use shirt gift boxes. I also freeze some for later, it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Syrup needed orange or lemon peel, but great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madelenepoon
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
A really good recipe. I baked them for the first time and my family loved them very much. However, I did add a little rosewater into the nut mixture and syrup, because I love the combination of rosewater and nuts. One thing though, remember not to pour too much syrup. I drenched mine, it tasted good but not a good idea if you have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was my co-workers birthday and he requested I make these (I'm the office baker so everyone gets to pick what they want me to make the for their birthday). Baklava is his favourite dessert so no pressure right? Lol He ended up eating the whole tray to himself ..luckily I made two. Lol. Everyone commented that it was "the best baklava they had ever tasted". Needless to say I will ow be making these every year for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I will admit the Phyllo dough is not the easiest thing to work with, but it is worth it for how great this baklava tastes. Everyone I serve it to loves it. I can't cook anything, but I can make this. Just don't cover it or it gets soggy; however, I didn't have any problems freezing it. I recommend using pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was time consuming, but didn't require too many ingredients, which is a plus. I personally thought it was too sweet, and I don't know why, but without being refrigerated, it was soggy, which made the phyllo lose its crisp. The family really liked it though, and I think it had a pretty good flavor, aside from being really sweet. Thanks for the recipe. I think I'll try it again :) Tips: *Use melted butter for the layers *Lemon zest would really help the syrup..It needs something fruity to take away from the sugary sweetness *Serve it refrigerated. At room temp, before being refrigerated (several hours after being baked), the phyllo would fall apart from the nut mixture when I tried to pick it up, and the sauce made it soggy and sticky. The refrigerator firmed it up *Make sure to use a LIGHTLY damp cloth for covering the dough as you work. Originally,the cloth I used was too damp, and it made the sheets stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren333L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I am not a very advanced baker but this recipe was spot-on. I loved it, my friends have all loved it, it's almost too good to be true! I tried it with 1 c walnuts, 1 c pistachios, and 2 c pecans, and it tasted kind of like a classy, baklava version of Honey Bunches of Oats cereal :) If you don't like that description, it just tastes fresh and delicious. Thank you for the recipe, will be doing again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States