Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Won a gift card for a dessert competition! WINNING RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I tried this at a store, and really wanted to make it thought it would be really difficult, it was very easy and my whole family loved it. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made baklava for the first time ever using this recipe and it turned out great. Read the reviews first and used a little less sugar and a bit more honey and it was very successful. Got rave reviews from family members. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CassondraLou
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
It was fantastic! Tasty and rich. I made it with Macadamia and Walnuts. I did not pour the entirely amount of sauce, I poured about 1/4 of it (slightly cooled) onto the baklava after baking. Stored the rest in the fridge. I didn't want it soggy :) It was fun to make and got my boyfriend to help layer the phyllo. Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassondraLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this and it came out good yet it seemed to be missing a spice, I used ghee as suggested in one of the comments to improve the chances of it not being soggy but it didn't seem to help any. I increased the sauce 1 1/2 times as some previous comments said the amount suggested would make too dry of a dessert. I loved it and so did all my friends, however, again, it seemed to be missing a spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was really good but the recipe is written in a slightly confusing way to someone who has never made baklava before. Maybe define between sheets and layering more? My dough came separated into two rolls already and each were the perfect size for my pan so I didn't have to cut it. I realized early on that the 2-3 tbsp of nuts per layer wasn't very much and gave me a very sparse layer of nuts so I used about 5 tbsp of nuts per layer which I liked much better. After I was done I stuck the whole pan in the freezer for a couple hours to flash freeze and then I wrapped each piece in plastic wrap and stuck them all in a freezer bag so I can have a single piece whenever I want one but without tempting myself to all of them at the same time- I have no will power against baklava haha. For anyone who felt the same about the directions being confusing, seeing this would have made it more helpful: Place two sheets of dough in pan, butter thoroughly. Repeat until you have 4 layers of 'dough, dough, butter'. Sprinkle 2 - 3 tablespoons of nut mixture on top. Top with two sheets of dough, then a layer of butter and nuts. Continue to layer two sheets of dough, butter and nuts until you have 6-8 sheets of dough left. Layer the remaining dough on top, 2 sheets at a time, buttering between so that the top is comprised of 6-8 butter brushed sheets etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I watched the video listed with this recipe and that helped me get a visual for the layering process. I recommend using real butter to brush the sheets-not margarine or Pam. The butter flavor really shines through and helps balance the sugar/honey. I used hazelnuts because they were cheap, and I couldn't taste them too much so I'm glad I didn't need to splurge on walnuts/pecans. Also-my phyllo sheets came out of their package pretty wrinkled and broken, I just did my best with it and it didn't affect the final product in any way. Great, fool proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
1 word AMAZING!! Never made baklava before & it was simple & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Tastes just as baklava should. It's sweet, sticky, crispy, and decadent. I did not cut the pastry sheets, I just folded them onto themselves. The amount of butter listed is plenty. Do not saturate your sheets in butter or they will not crisp. Also, I suggest leaving the amount of syrup the same, or it will be sickeningly sweet. This took me about twenty minutes to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States