Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was really good-- but it made ALOT, so be prepared to give some away or eat it all! I tried freezing half, but it didn't come out of the freezer nearly as good as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mysterychix
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I found this incredibly easy to make and it was a HUGE hit with family and friends! Luckily I read a lot of the comments first and as a result I did find that I had to increase the butter to 3 sticks and then use a pastry brush to *paint* each layer. I found that cutting it first made it cook more evenly. Also the type of honey you use may add some flavor to the dish. Lastly, with the second batch I got inventive and added mini chocolate chips to one end of the pan -- what made it taste just like the chocolate baklava I had in Istanbul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was incredibly delicious. It was a little hairy working with the phyllo dough. Wasted 4 or 5 sheets. I did bake it for the full 50 minutes and it was a beautiful golden brown. It was a little confusing reading and understanding the instructions but I watched the video. Thanks for sharing this recipe Neonwillie...you have a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe at least 30 times now. Every single time I make it, it flys out of the pan. I do make more layers than it states to, only because I like it that way. It is the perfect amount of cinnamon and honey sweetness. One of the best recipes for Baklava and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 different times, using sometimes a variation of different nuts, and I've added either lemon or orange juice/rind in the hot syrup...and I've never missed. Everyone loves it, and honestly a lot easier to make than I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These are fabulous! Everyone always wants me to make these. And true baklava lovers tell me that these are better than any they have ever tasted. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newell, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
OMG!!! This was absolutely delicious and exactly how I remembered it growing up! I used half walnuts and half pecans finely chopped in my food processor, which made this step so easy. As others suggested, I added 2 T. sugar and 1/2 t. more cinnamon to the nut mixture. Others also suggested giving it a more honey flavor so I added 1/4 C. honey to the sauce. I enjoy honey so this addition was a good one for me. If you are not a real honey fan, then you should not add the additional honey. I refrigerated the sauce to cool it off before pouring it on the hot out-of-the-oven baklava. After baking, the top phyllo layers were crispy and light - not soggy. Before baking, I tried to cut only through most of the layers to the bottom of the pan before pouring the sauce over it - its hard to judge, but made the effort. I did not toast the nuts-it tasted fabulous anyway. I baked only about 45 minutes - came out perfect. My husband and daughter who are not baklava fans liked it. My son and I LOVED it! This is not a low calorie dish, remember, but it is absolutely worth making. I ate 4 in two days - not a good idea for the waistline. I froze the other half of the recipe as others suggested. So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIEDH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Flippin Amazing!! I made this, gave it to my mother inlaw and she told me she could only eat 2 pieces. That night she called me and said she ate the entire thing in one sitting! She said it's the BEST Baklava she's ever eaten. Yes! She wants me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
10 star recipe! This is just amazing, I took the baklava to a football party and everyone loved them and wanted the recipe, I made them exactly to your recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I love the flavor of this baklava, but it turned out a bit soggy. I suspect I used too much butter on the phyllo layers, as I ran out about 2/3 of the way through assembly. Next time, I'll go a little lighter. I used a mix of pecans, walnuts, and peanuts, but I think next time I will stick with pecans only. I don't think the texture of the peanuts was quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States