Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is extremely close to what I do when I "wing it" using the ingredients and steps my mom used for years. Here are few points, some of which others have made and which you can take or leave but they work for me: - keep the melted butter well stirred between brushing sheets. Butter is about 15% water and if you start brushing too much of that aqueous portion you'll make it soggy. You could clarify the butter but there is quite a bit of flavor in the water and dissolved solids so I don't. - I add both sugar and vanilla extract to the chopped nuts. A few tablespoons of sugar and a couple teaspoons of vanilla seem about right. - do not cut the baklava all the way to the bottom before baking. Cut down to the last solid layer of phyllo. This helps the syrup spread throughout the baklava instead of pooling on the bottom. When it is ready to serve cut all the way through. - a few notes on the syrup: I don't think this recipe calls for enough. I use about 1.5x & no honey. Add the juice of half a lemon to the syrup before boiling. Do NOT add the vanilla until the syrup is cool. Simmer the syrup until it is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. You'll know it when you see it. Chill the syrup until refrigerator cold. Add vanilla and either rose or orange blossom water - a couple tablespoons is plenty - and stir in thoroughly. I use rose water. Try World Market for those. Hot bakalava + ice cold syrup OR cooled bakalava + warm syrup = not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Easier than thought it would be. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. Recommend adding sugar to the nuts. You can leave out the cinnamon for a different taste. Sauce should be cool (not cold) when poured on. Baclava has many different varieties. Its believed to have originated in mesopotamia before the ottoman empire. Today it is made in Egypt, Greece and turkey although each region has its own variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I was studying Greece and found this recipe on your site. It tasted like strudel, which we love. It was fun to make, though confusing at times. The phyllo would have fit our pan without cutting. Most people in our family don't like nuts, but they liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
very easy, very very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
So delicious! I've never made baklava before and I was amazed at how perfect it was! Freezes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I make these with pistachios for the best flavor, but peeling, blanching cleaning and chopping them takes quiet a while to do. I've made this with walnuts but it just doesn't taste as good. If you're a patient person I suggest the pistachio route, it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Awesome. Just like mom used to make ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
FABULOUSLY EASY...just a couple things, i melted the butter and put it in a spray bottle which was much quicker and easier plus i used half the butter. second i add a tsp of cocoa to my nut mixture i find it adds a bit more body to the taste i love it..make your syrop first and put it in the fridge to get cold before you port it on the hot baklava that way it doesn't get soggy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by proudmomma
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States