Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I need to say that it was my FIRST TIME making baklava.Thank you Neonwillie for the recipe ??and thank you All Recipes for the video. This recipe was judt perfect in every way. It worked so perfectly that nobody could believe it was my first time doing it. The honey sauce was thick and delicious. It's a nice recipe to bring to someone's home when invited. I can not express enough my appreciation. Thank you thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I have brought it to a lot of office and holiday parties, and everyone raves. One Greek person said it was better than his mother's (shhh). I do only use 1/2 lb walnuts and one roll of the phyllo dough (so, 8oz). It makes for thinner baklava, but it's very crispy and manages to soak up all of the syrup. I'm surprised that people have written about cooling the syrup. I boil it for the last 20 minutes the baklava is baking (YES definitely pre-cut - use a *very* sharp knife so the phyllo doesn't rip or slide), and then you pull the baklava out of the oven and pour the boiling syrup over it immediately...it will run down all the cracks between the diamonds. As it cools, the syrup becomes thicker and is soaked up by the crispy phyllo. Yummmmm. (I am making it again right now...waiting for the first 30 mins to be up so that I can boil the syrup!) Oh, my pastry brush was kind of rough. I actually use a Bare Minerals blush brush (new and shampoo'd before using). The soft bristles barely disturb the phyllo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrington, Maine, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindayree
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was my second attempt at making baklava. The first time was I used AltonBrown's recipe and it was an epic failure. so a lot of time went by before I was brave enough to give it another go. I have renewed confidence since making this version. It was very easy and simple. And I wouldn't call it time consuming either, I thought it came together pretty quickly. I generally like to make a recipe exactly as stated the first time I make it, and then go back and read the reviews to see what adaptations other people have made. Some people are absolutely brilliant in the kitchen (I'm not one of them). In this case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Directions could be more specific. How many layers of phyllo before butter and nuts? Two layers, then butter and nuts? Each time or only the bottom layers with multiples on the top? My brother-in-law learned this recipe from his Aunt Antigone, and he uses half butter and half Crisco--ot blackens less. Also, if you thicken the syrup too much, and let it cool a bit before spooning on to the pastries, it solidifies into taffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Have made this recipe several times and have a faithful following of fans that think it is great. I have taught others how to make it, it is sort of like a kindergarten project putting it all together. The pastry brush suggestion someone made is a good one, it works well. Make sure your phyllo is fully thawed and be careful handling it is the only advice I have. Fun to make, great to eat. Great recipe. Never disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Loved it! I also added golden raisins soaked in sherry for 1h, and for the 1 pound of nuts I added 1/2 pound of pecans and 1/2 of pistachios. However, the sorbet (it's not really called sauce, this is baklava) was not enough. I made twice the amount so the baklava was nicely moist when we tried it (the baklava is not suppose to be a dry dessert, but quite moist even soaking in sorbet. Ask any Arabian or Turkish baker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great recipe and so easy to do! I'm not a baker at all, and everyone was impressed by this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I found this recipe about 5 years ago. I make it for Christmas now every year. I do add just a pinch of clove and some sugar to my nut mixture. I also make my syrup before I do anything else. I pour the cold syrup over the hot baklava and it just sucks the syrup right up. I always use the exact ingredients for everything else and everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made a double batch, what an edeavor!!! Since nuts are so expensive I used 1/4 # dates and 3/4# nuts (8 oz pecans, 6 oz pistachios, and 2 oz cashews), for the sauce I used raw honey, turbinado sugar, and zest from 2 lemons. I 1.5x the sauce recipe and chilled it while I made and baked the pastry. Next time will definitely try misting butter instead brushing, just have to figure a way to keep butter hot. Phyllo can be very tricky to work with as it is so delicate if you let it get too dry it will crumble, rip and tear and too moist it sticks to other sheets. Don't let it aggravate you, I go through and separate the sheets for each layer with plastic wrap before starting so I don't have to keep track of how many sheets I have put down and can gauge how much filling I have for each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was absolutely delicious. All you have to do is work fast and bake it for 40 minutes instead of 50 to get it to a nice golden crisp. For everyone who wrote bad comments about how this isn't real baklava, it is real. Baklava can be Arab or Greek. The Arab way does not have the cinnamon and vanilla flavor in it. It also uses pistachios instead of walnuts. Baklava is NOT Turkish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States