Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have a friend that loves baklava and I decided to take on the challenge for him. After reading the reviews, I made 1.5x the sauce and put it in the fridge to cool while I made the baklava. Some here said they added sugar to the nut and cinnamon mix but I didn't want it to be too sweet so I added just a small amount of brown sugar to it. I got it in the oven at 325 since some reviews said 350 was too high. Once it was golden on top I took it out and poured the cold sauce onto it immediatly. I had made sure to not make my cuts all the way through so the bottom wouldn't get soggy. I let it sit for a bit and then tried a bite. Heaven. I took some in for my friend and he said it was perfect and that I must be part Greek ;) He isn't one to sugarcoat the truth either, so I trusted him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
YUMMMMM! My husband is not a big fan of baklava because it's usually overly sweet for him, but he loves this baklava! This has just the right amount of sweetness without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Falls, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS!I make it all the time, its easy and i always get raves :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Have you tried using rose water in your recipe? It's just rose extract and water, but when I went to the Greek festival and got baklava, the rose water made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This version is NOT Turkish and almost every country in Europe has their own version. Greeks make it with almonds or walnuts. I know the Lebanese use pistachios and don't pore syrup over it and its usually dry. Whatver the case THIS Greek style baklava is great. I love th suggestions too. I'm going to make his for my hubby's birthday since he loves eating and probably breathing Greek food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
It's Turkish, but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Thanks, 1st time making Baklava followed a few hints from the other bakers, It was a hit with the family !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made BAKLAVA. With everyone telling me how difficult fillo dough is to work with I was a little skeptical. It wasn't hard at all. My tips: Oven temp 530 degrees. I put the BUTTER in a pampered chef spray bottle. This made spreading the butter EASY & FAST. I did NOT put a damp towel over the fillo dough, instead: I put a piece of wax paper in the FREEZER for about 10 minutes. I would put it on the fillo dough in between the time I was making my layers. YOU CAN DO THIS! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this for 1st time this thanksgiving, it was absolutely delish. However I don t think I should make it too often as it is ADDICTIVE, one piece is a just a tease. IAs long as it's around I can t help eating it! Barb in Scranton,Pa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I was looking for a great recipe and this is it! I made 1 1/2 times the syrup like others said and found it to be perfect. I added a cinnamon stick and zest from a limequat (I had one fresh off of the tree) to the water and sugar before boiling and it provided a very good flavor. I will make this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States