Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made a 5 pound bird in a 6 1/2 quart slow cooker. Marinated it in orange, tangerine and lemon juice with sliced onions and chopped cilantro. After reading most of the reviews and knowing that the size of the chicken and varying temps of slow cookers I decided to place a probe thermometer in the bird to keep from over cooking it. I did place it on foil balls knowing I didn't want greasy veggies from the rendered fat. Placed the slow cooker on high for the first hour then switched to low. The 5 pound bird took a total of 4 hours and 20 minutes. Although this was OK I think I'll stick with my rotisserie cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I was a little short on time, so I decided to cook this on high for 4 hours. I also added a glass of water at the bottom to keep it moist. I didn't add any additional ingredients or seasonings, and the chicken was absolutely delicious and flavourful. The whole family enjoyed it. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It's edible and it looks baked. I followed the directions exactly as written. The texture was atrocious - it wasn't tender; it was so far beyond tender it was like chewing chicken paste. I think I might try this method again using the temperature probe on my slow cooker to keep the chicken from overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My family loved this chicken. I especially loved how EASY it was to prepare and tasted like the rotiserie chickens you can get at the grocery store or Wally-World. I imagine you could season it with italian dressing, or a blend of italian seasonings, or lemon pepper, etc. to get just about any flavor you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Didn't change a thing, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I have done this recipe several times. It's always great. I change up the spices, put in a few veggies. It is a very versatile recipe. I love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made it and it was wonderful!!! I'm going to make it again for sure. I just switched up the seasoning. But this is brilliant I would of never guessed. I took a picture of it and I'm so upset I deleted. I will post it another time when I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
did not like it that much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
My crock pot whole chicken turned out very tender. I cooked on low the whole time for 8 hrs. I think a little less time would be better since it just fell apart from the bone and was almost mushy. I used additional seasonings: 2 tsp salt, 2 tsp paprika, dash cayenne, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp pepper and onion on bottom. I did not use the rolled up tin foil the second time I did it and it was fine. I also rubbed a little oil on the chicken before putting the seasonings on and under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Did not turn out good. I ended up having to bake it for about 20 min as chicken turns out steamed looking despite some of the reviews.I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States