Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I use this recipe about once a week. It's just my husband and I at home. I can make this,have baked chicken one night and use the leftovers for something else another night. With our work schedule the cooking time is perfect for us. I sometimes switch up the seasonings but the technique is awesome! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I was most impressed at how it crisped up on the outside, and how juicy it was on the inside. I just rubbed with oil and put on a lot of "Tony's" season and that was it. The tin foil on the bottom is a brilliant idea....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Luanda, Luanda, Angola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
The chicken browned, better than baked! As a working woman, who loves roasted chicken, I believe this recipe is better than gold :) I had 5 thighs. I seasoned them as I normally do, balled up 5 pieces of foil, set them a top the foil, turned it on at 7:30 am & arrived home at 6:45 pm to find beautifully browned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Great way to make a roast chicken in the summer heat! Not exactly roasted but good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I had a 5lb. chicken, I cooked it on high for 2 hours and low for 4 hours. I used rosemary, thyme, and Bells seasoning. It was the most tender chicken we have ever had. The flavor was great! I love the idea of the tin foil. I highly recommed this. Very easy with good results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made this over the weekend since it was very hot outside and I didn't want to fire up the oven. This was very easy to make, but I was disappointed in the end result. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the aroma while cooking was wonderful; however, even after seasoning the chicken liberally before slow cooking, it came out very bland. We ended up adding the chicken to some fettucine noodles and alfredo sauce, which turned out tasty, but I think I'll stick to oven roasting chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
The first time I used this recipe, I forgot to turn the slow cooker down to low after an hour. So when I went to check after the allotted time all of the meat had cooked off the bone. The flavor however was great. And the family enjoyed it. Today I tried it again, this time I did not forget to turn it down to low. It turned out great. Mine was not crispy as other have reported. But it was very tender, moist and flavorful. Just as if I had placed it in the oven and continually basted it with it juices. Always thought I had to let meat remain in it's juices in a slow cooker. It's nice to know that is not the case. I dont like to have my chicken swimming in fat. I will be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made a 5 pound bird in a 6 1/2 quart slow cooker. Marinated it in orange, tangerine and lemon juice with sliced onions and chopped cilantro. After reading most of the reviews and knowing that the size of the chicken and varying temps of slow cookers I decided to place a probe thermometer in the bird to keep from over cooking it. I did place it on foil balls knowing I didn't want greasy veggies from the rendered fat. Placed the slow cooker on high for the first hour then switched to low. The 5 pound bird took a total of 4 hours and 20 minutes. Although this was OK I think I'll stick with my rotisserie cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I was a little short on time, so I decided to cook this on high for 4 hours. I also added a glass of water at the bottom to keep it moist. I didn't add any additional ingredients or seasonings, and the chicken was absolutely delicious and flavourful. The whole family enjoyed it. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It's edible and it looks baked. I followed the directions exactly as written. The texture was atrocious - it wasn't tender; it was so far beyond tender it was like chewing chicken paste. I think I might try this method again using the temperature probe on my slow cooker to keep the chicken from overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States