Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is the easiest/best chicken ever! The paprika gives is a "roasted" color. So moist! This is the only way to "bake a chicken!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight, using suggestions of additional spices and 2 cups chicken broth in the pot. First, the foil balls kept the bird off the bottom of the pot. The flavor was delicious, and would have been very good using just the as written spices. That said, my 3 1/2 pound chicken was dry. I was very glad to have the broth in the pot. I simply defatted the broth and added a cup of it to a roux, along with a pinch of pepper. The gravy was PERFECT! I will certainly make this again, cooking on low for 7 hours. The remaining broth is in the freezer for a night when I need amazing gravy. So 4 stars. With an onion and some poultry seasoning, plus a timing adjustment, this is worth 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Not sure what to say about this - easy, but tastes just like boiled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was what I thought it would be: a great way to stew chicken. I used carrots and potatoes instead of foil for the bottom, and added 3/4 cup chicken broth only because I had it on hand to use up. I put a half onion cut up into four pieces and some celery in the cavity. I loosened the skin and put spices underneath. I cooked it 8 hours on low. It was good, but bland. Next time? Even more spices, and lower the cooking time to 7 hours on low. This would be a great way to make chicken soup, or just cook a chicken to use the meat in different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I added some rosemary and thyme....AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maedaysmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was ok. It definitely cooks faster than the directions. I took it out an hour early, and it was already a bit dry. I also added quite of additional seasonings, stuffing the bird with onion, celery and garlic, placing bits of butter and more garlic cloves under the skin, and rubbing the outside of the skin with rosemary, salt, pepper and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Turns out perfect every time. However, I do rub the spices under the skin and simply turn it on low for 8 hours. The meat slides right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwileygo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
One word: easy! Great basic recipe. You can spice it up by rubbing olive oil and herbs or seasonings on the skin. Try using a flavor injector to even juicier chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I am not sure what I did to make it cook so fast, but it was done cooking in less than 7 hours rather than the 10 stated. The chicken itself was delicious and will definitely keep this recipe for large family gatherings to share the greatness with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Kurth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
A nice & easy way to cook your chicken in the slow cooker without it disintegrating. I cooked it with a handful of carrots and potatoes. Next time I need add more. I also found the chicken to be a little bland even WITH using more seasoning than recommended. Again: needs more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States