Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I really want to like this recipe but I have made it multiple times over the years and I never like the way it turns out. The flavors are lacking, and my chicken is falling off the bone unfortunately I don't think I like this this way. Maybe I over cooked it or didn't put enough seasonings but I usually add more spices than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Norman-Dao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Made this today for our Sunday after church lunch. the entire family loved it. I did use the potatoes and carrots rather than the aluminum foil, everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really easy and just amazing texture!! I was skeptical about not filling the crock pot with water but it turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made for the first time it was AWESOME!!!! My chicken always tastes boiled in a slow cooker but not this recipe. It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Followed the directions exactly--the chicken was actually a little bigger than called for. Cooked TO DEATH. It didn't just fall apart, it was mush. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Delicious! If you want to make it yourself, this is the way to go. I must say though, you can get them already delcicious and cooked at the grocery store for about the same price. Sometimes it feels good to make it yourself, and sometimes you just want to save the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Turned out wonderful. Entire family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I give this recipe 4 stars for the original method.. However if you doctor it up with more flavor then it is a 5 star for sure. I have made this 3 times so far. Attempt #1: Took advice from others and stuffed cavity with onions, garlic, and carrots. Lined the bottom with onions, garlic and carrots. Seasoned the 5 lb bird with rosemary, garlic salt, pepper, paprika, etc.. and cooked it as recipe says: 1 hr on high and then 8ish on low. Smelled amazing walking thru the door but was dry dry dry. We still ate it (seasonings were great and the veggies were to die for!) Attempt #2: 5 lb bird again.. seasoned and treated same as before but reduced cooking time (on LOW) to about 6 to 7 hours. Again.. dry. :( Attempt #3: 4 lb bird. By George, this time I think I've got it. This time I actually tried the aluminum ball technique.. generously seasoned the bird with olive oil, garlic salt, seasoned salt, paprika, diced garlic, pepper. 4 hours 30 minutes on LOW only.. divine. Next time I want to use potatoes as a base.. cooking is all about trial and error right? I finally figured out a way that is delicious and tender, but you never know.. maybe I could combine the fruits of my research (or should I say veggies of my research lol) and use veggies on the bottom with a 4 lb bird and cook on low for 4.5 hours. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States