Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My family loved this recipe and I'm going to make it again and again, but I didn't give 5 stars because I only loosely followed the recipe. I used a whole chicken and did not use foils balls. Instead, I halved a few onions and carrots and quartered some red potatoes to put in the bottom. I'm not a fan of paprika so I used fresh garlic, salt and pepper. I put some garlic cloves and an onion inside the chicken. I also added half a cup of chicken broth because I was worried it would be too dry. I also cooked the chicken breast down. Mmmmmmmmm so good. It wasn't fall of the bone chicken, but it was moist and tender, tasted wonderful, and the veggies were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Followed top suggestions on seasonings. I had the equivalent to a whole chicken but in pieces and cooked them all in the crock. This was a SUPER tasty recipe for fall off the bone chicken. Saved reserved chicken for a recipe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
very easy and great for dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I did all the extras, potato on bottom celery, carrot, onion inside. Cooked one hour on high 5 hour on low 6lb bird. It looked gross no browning action so I carefully picked it up put it in cast iron skillet and broiled it till browned. But it was good.like a rotisserie chicken but fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I've been doing whole chickens in the slow cooker since the '80s. I'd put a whole FROZEN chicken in the slow cooker, sprinkle things like salt, pepper, garlic powder, thyme, paprika, poultry seasoning, sage ... anything I could get my hands on in a hurry as I headed out the door to work. Set the slow cooker on low (sometimes the lid didn't even close completely until it cooked down a bit) and came home from work 8 or 9 hours later to a wonderful "roasted" chicken. Never used any liquid or vegetables at all, but I am going to try the foil balls just to see how it compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Quick, Easy and good. Frequent meal on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe for a "roasted" chicken! I combined recipes using the seasoning from the Whole chicken slow cooker recipe and these driections for cooking, using the foil. Very good and not greasy at all! Not even too spicy or salty using the seasonings from the above mentioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
it's pretty good for the slow cooker but not really like baked chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
After reading the other comments I changed the recipe as follows. I cut up 3 carrots, 2 pieces of salary and cut an onion in sixths and placed it on the bottom of the cooker. I took 1/4 cup softened butter and added thyme, sage, salt and pepper and mixed it well. I rubbed the butter under the chicken breast skin and around the entire chicken. As suggested by another, I wrapped it in cheesecloth and added it to the cooker breast side down. I also added a can of low sodium chicken broth but next time will use only half. I cooked it on high for 1 1/2 hours, low for 5 hours then high again for another 45 minutes. The chicken was really ugly to look at so don't plan on serving it whole. The cheesecloth was great because it really did just fall apart. After pulling the meat off of the chicken and pulling out the carrots, it was terrific. The husband loved it and while not pretty, a keeper. The chicken if I'd had any leftover would have made great salad topping or sandwiches so I might make some just for that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Really great and really easy! I put onions, carrots and potatoes under the bird instead of foil balls and had a full meal with lots of leftover options too. Now I'm watching for more whole chickens to go on sale so I can try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States