Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Really great and really easy! I put onions, carrots and potatoes under the bird instead of foil balls and had a full meal with lots of leftover options too. Now I'm watching for more whole chickens to go on sale so I can try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I followed the directions with the exception of the seasonings. I seasoned it to my taste. A very easy prep. The meat fell off the bones when removing it from the cooker. I think I need to cook it for a shorter period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Since my husband is on a very low sodium diet I used 1/2 cup of white wine & 1/2 cup of no sodium broth using sodium free bouillon by Herb Ox used two large turkey thighs and used the suggestion of putting vegetables under them and added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious. Easy. Moist. Mine cooked in about 6 hrs. total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Like many others this was great but needed a few changes. I placed baby Dutch potatoes, carrots, and onions in the bottom of my pot with 3/4 cup chicken broth. I then placed well seasoned chicken thighs on top. Seasoned with salt, pepper, paprika, and rosemary. I then cooked on low for 9 hrs. Next time I might only do 8.5 as it was just slightly dry. Anyway it was fantastic! Great recipe to build off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Sorry, I'm not a fan here. I made a lot of the modifications that other reviewers suggested and it was not worth the effort, imo. I rubbed my spices under the skin with some olive oil. I put potatoes, onions and carrots both beneath the chicken in place of the aluminum foil. I also put these inside the chicken cavity along with plenty of minced garlic. I added chicken broth and 3/4 cup red wine and let it go. About 2 hrs before it was finished, I added more chopped onions and potatoes. One person suggested adding the extra ingredients about 1 hr before it's done but I had a feeling it would not be cooked enough. Sure enough, even with 2 hrs, they were only half done. My biggest regret was not using a cheesecloth or a bunch of string around the chicken, because it totally disintegrated when I went to pull it out. Bones everywhere. So after about 20 minutes of fishing out bones, I finally could sit down to enjoy. It was not worth the wait. The potatoes, onions and carrots on the bottom were MUSH and those I added at the end were under-cooked. The sauce was mediocre at best. The chicken had little flavor. The smell in the house during day was amazing and I had really high hopes for this. But I think I expected it to be like a roasted dish with the same results and less fuss. But it wasn't. It was a chore to eat the remainder not wanting to waste it. I continued to enjoy fishing for bones still days later. Sorry..this one doesn't fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Three words YUM YUM and YUM! I was out of paprika so I subbed with cayenne. Only change I made. Simple, smelled delish and tasted even better. Made a great stock as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is absolutely the BEST recipe for slow cooker chicken that doesn't taste like slow cooker chicken. The foil makes the chicken crisp, without drying...-I have given this recipe to many of my friends who love baked chicken but have a problem with soggy bottom/soft skin...everyone needs to try this method of slow cooking if they want crisp, tender chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Awesome! Cut up potatoes, celery, and carrots and put'em at the bottom instead of foil balls. Seasoned chicken with steak seasoning actually and then added freshly diced rosemary, garlic powder, and onion powder. Left the chicken pieces (drumsticks, thighs) in the fridge in a plastic bag for a couple of hours. Then cooked it on high for about 5.5 hours. I turned the chicken and vegetables halfway so it cooks evenly. For the vegetables I salted and peppered it before cooking. I liked the the chicken on top of the veggies so the chicken fat fell to the bottom of the pot and seasoned the veggies even more. Man... this is def the best way to cook chicken. :) The meat was superbly tender. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I m cooking- and just got a small crock pot at the thrift store. This recipe seemed simple enough, so I tried it. It came out WONDERFUL! I used boneless, SKINLESS ,thinly sliced chicken breasts. It came out juicy and tender. There.was some juice in the bottom of the pot, so I mixed that in some instant mashed potatoes. What a wonderful meal! I am so PROUD of myself for doing this :-) I rinsed and saved the aluminum foil balls, to reuse them again, and save foil and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States