Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I followed it exactly but did as other reviewers and used quartered potatoes instead of aluminum foil. It turned out as expected! Next time, I would like to try adding more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Chicken was liberally spiced, followed directions....the chicken was so dry and overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda DeCaussin Abbott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very easy! Used some of the variations I read about....like using halved onions on the bottom instead of the foil. I also put two slaps of thick bacon in slow cooker, and heavily seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and some Italian seasoning. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccloud, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Cook for less time so it isn't so dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
rubbed it under the skin really well with onion salt, garlic salt and pepper. sprinkled it with paprika. Fried it in a pan till it looked nice and golden brown. stuffed it with onion and celery. put on top of aluminum balls as directed and didn't add any juice. Came out great. Had enough juices to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made this recipe but instead of the foil I put potatoes, carrots and onions. I used a 4.5lb chicken. I should have removed the skin because it dripped off a lot of fat. I put butter combined with garlic, salt and parsley all over the chicken. Even though I added half a cup of white wine some parts were a bit dry, but it was great for a chicken pot pie, so no loss here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laugh42

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
The seasoning was really bland but the chicken turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamarakr
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great basic recipe very easy to adjust with whatever you have on hand. Here's what I did, first I put potatoes/carrots/celery/onion/garlic cut in chunks instead of the foil. I seasoned with poultry seasoning/cayenne/garlic powder/seasoning salt/dried parsley/dried basil (I seasoned under the skin too - I put some butter under the skin as well) I also cut 1 small onion and about 5 garlic cloves and inserted it inside the chicken. I then brushed chicken with a little dijon mustard and then some olive oil to keep chicken moist. I poured a little white zinfandel wine (maybe 1/4 cup) and about 1/4 beef broth. Let it cook untouched for 3.5 hours on high. Juiciest chicken ever, potatoes were amazing too! I made an easy chicken gravy from the juices left over in the pot by adding a bit of flour paste (flour & drippings) and letting it cook on high for 20 more minutes. Only thing I would do differently next time is I would put lemon wedges on the inside and slices on top (I love lemon). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamarakr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
10 hours is too long. It gets dry. Also, I made it as is, but recommend using garlic, etc., as well as something in the cavity (onion, celery, orange) to give this more flavor. It's something to do with a whole chicken, but now it's cheaper to just buy a rotisserie chicken at the grocery than do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Soooo tender! Loved it! I will try and season it more next time to give it more flavor and add more salt, pepper and garlic powder. Used breast meat to make chicken pot pie the next day and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States