Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Yes I made it! Yes, it was perfect! And yes... I conceded and made one addition. I added a splash of lemon juice to the bottom of the slow cooker, so that, as it simmered on the foil, the lemony juices would help in flavor. No. I did not put a lot, and I did not smoother the poor bird with it. Just a small amount at the bottom of the pan. VERY TASTY AND LOW-FAT, LOW-SALT, ETC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Followed the directions almost exactly, used Lawry's Seasoned salt instead of the paprika and salt and pepper. Excellent results. No the chicken doesn't look fantastic, but it's all in the taste and this was probably the best chicken I have ever cook. Moist and tender. I found that after you take it out of the slow cooker and let it sit for a minute the skin does kinda crisp up a little. Also the wings and legs that were touching the sides of the slow cooker came out nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This is a great way to get tender moist chicken. To finish it off put under broiler for 10 minutes to brown the skin. Adding a skim of butter to the chicken make for nice down skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I have made this just as the recipe stated, except wrapped potatoes in the foil and put in bottom. NOTHING else was needed. Chicken fell off the bone, had excellent flavor and the potatoes didn't need butter or anything. Try it AS WRITTEN and you will be surprised. FIVE STAR (couldn't get it to take 5)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I tried it exactly as printed. When you change a recipe so severely how in the world can you rate the published recipe? It is getting sickening reading through all of the completely changed recipes that these people rate. I wanted to know how THIS recipe came out not the recipes of these individuals who created new recipes. Shame on you people. If you are so proud of what you did send your NEW recipe in!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
As a food safety expert, it is never recommended to wash your chicken. It can result in cross contamination in your sink or counter as the water splashes. If the chicken is contaminated with Salmonella or Campylobacter, which is very possible. The pathogen will be killed if the chicken is cooked to 165 degrees and verified by using a thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I tried this recipe and made just a few changes. Instead of a whole chicken, I used ground venison. I rubbed the meat all over with salt, pepper and cinnamon and browned the meat in the oven. Instead of aluminum foil, I placed the venison on a couple of coconut halves in the slow cooker, poured a bottle of cognac over it, and cooked it on low for 10 hours. I turned out soooo good. I served it with brown rice and sauerkraut. My kids, who are picky eaters, LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Awesome chicken. Spice it as you like. The cooking method makes the chicken juicy and tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Juicy & delicious! I soaked my chicken in a gallon of seasoned brine overnight, rinsed, and patted dry. I have a 7 qt. oval slow-cooker, so I increased the foil balls to 6. Poured a 1/2 c. chicken broth into the bottom before adding the bird, breast-side down. Melted 2 tbsp. unsalted butter, stirred in a little garlic salt, paprika, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and poultry seasoning, and rubbed onto the chicken. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours on high, then 5 hours on low. There was plenty of juice beneath the chicken, so made gravy, and served with mashed potatoes and steamed mixed veggies. I would've never thought of elevating the chicken on tin foil, but I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This recipe is great for individual like myself, who are new to the kitchen. I followed the suggestions and added 2C of water, 3/4C chicken broth, and 1/3C lemon juice. It was great! I also used red potatoes, broccoli, and carrots to cover the bottom. I will def be using this again! -Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States