Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The first time I made this dish, I did the substitution of apple sauce for oil and changed nothing else. It was quite tasty, especially the second day, but on the first day I found the texture with all rolled oats to be a bit too chewy (that did improve by the next day). This time I made it with half quick oats and half rolled oats and it was just right. I also substituted half of the sugar with Splenda with no change in taste, making this a bit healthier than written. Great recipe and easy to make. Raisins or cranberries work great with it. And BTW, it didn't come out too soft either time and could be cut up into bars for a take-along breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I make this at least once a week for our family. What I love MOST about it is that the recipe is forgiving enough for lots of variation. Sometimes I sub applesauce for the oil. Sometimes I sub a couple bananas for 2/3 of the milk. Sometimes I sub pumpkin puree for most of the milk, and add some pumpkin pie spice. Once, I had ground up too many gingersnaps for the crust of a pumpkin cheesecake, and threw the excess gingersnap crumbs in. Delicious! You can even add peanut butter (and bananas?...or chocolate chips?) to the recipe. To add more healthy goodness, try adding some ground flax seed or wheat germ. It's yummy enough that the kids would never guess! Great recipe on its own, and fun to experiment with, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved this recipe! Easy to throw together. After reading readers reviews, the first batch we made with apples and dried currants. The second batch (as it was fall), I used a cup of canned pumpkin and 2-3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. So very good~ my kids don't normally eat oatmeal, however, they were eating this! Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Out of the 3 cups of rolled oats that the recipe calls for, we use one cup steel-cut oats (and 2 cups rolled oats). You will love the extra firmness and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Great basis recipe. Easy to throw together in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was excellent! I used this recipe to bake some oatmeal for friends who lost power in Hurricane Sandy. I made a couple changes and it was delicious still. I substituted applesauce for the butter (1 to 1), used slightly less brown sugar, and added one chopped macintosh apple at the end. Yummy! Everyone loved and appreciated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have made this recipe 3 weekends in a row. We love it, especially my 1 year old. It is super easy to make and great for weekday mornings. Tastes great with a scoop of homemade pumpkin pie filling and cool whip! We are addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was delicious. I made one version with nutella instead of cranberries and another with nectarines. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNCANDACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend and I, and didn't know what to expect. Baked oatmeal is something his mom always made for him so I was worried that it wouldn't measure up, but thankfully he loved it and asked if it was his mom's recipe! I only made a couple changes, I didn't have cinnamon on hand so I added a little bit of maple syrup and I used walnuts instead of cranberries. It was very decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Brett Dussault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is really good. I use 4 cups of oats. 2 cups Multi grain oats from Trader Joes and 2 cups old fashion oats. I like the texture it gives.I also use apple sauce instead of butter, only a sprinkle of brown sugar. I have made this about 5 times in the past 2 months. Once with peaches and all the other times by grating 3 apples and chopping 3 apples with skins on. I add 1 additional liquid egg white to make it so you can easily cut in squares. My family of 6 eats in a day. LOVE this!!! Husband loved the peach version, but 4, 6, and 2 yr old liked the apple version only. I can now assemble this in less than 10 min! I bake it the night before and we scoop in bowls in the am. I like mine warmed up in a bowl with almond milk and additional cinnamon . ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 4 under 8

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States