Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made two small adjustments to this recipe. I used coconut oil in place of the butter and I reduced the sugar by half, thinking that if I'm drizzling this with syrup, I don't want it too sweet. But after tasting it without syrup, I found it to be perfectly sweet for my preferences (I'm a sweet tooth) and flavorful enough not to need syrup at all. It was light, fluffy and crumbly, kind of like a very soft granola, but tasting just like a bowl of oatmeal should. All it needs is a handful of nuts tossed in for further nutritional value. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
We enjoyed this very much. It's easy to put together for a healthy, quick breakfast to have on hand throughout the week. I poured a bit of milk of warm milk over it to serve. This actually made 10 serving, possibly 12. I used half the sugar and used applesauce in lieu of butter with a nice result. Next time, I will use half the salt. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Amazing!! Our whole family loves this!! My dad said that this is the best baked oatmeal that he has ever had, and my mom said we should make it for breakfast three times a week. With responses like that, it is definitely a keeper:) This recipe, for our tastes, is absolutely perfect as written. We especially like it warm with milk poured over it. So good!! Baked Oatmeal I from this site was our previous go-to baked oatmeal recipe, but everyone agrees that this recipe is much better. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love this recipe. I make it about twice a week and my whole family loves it too. I swapped the cranberries for raisins and also added walnuts. It is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Riggs
Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very tasty. Everyone of us loved it. I did use only 1/2c brown sugar and that seemed perfect. For our group this fed 2 adults and 3 teen boys and was just exactly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I read other reviews and decided to make a healthier version to take on a road trip for breakfast. It turned out beautifully! I used 1/2 C brown sugar, 3 tsp cinnamon, and added a tsp each of nutmeg and cardamom, skim milk, egg beaters, subbed unsweetened applesauce for the butter, and 1 finely chopped apple and about 1/2 C of raisins instead of the cranberries. Thinking of trying mango and coconut next. LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
best when topped with fresh raspberries and a little milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopewittig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Love it! Made a few changes - use 1/2 C brown sugar, soy milk instead of milk and applesauce to replace the butter. I also use closer to a cup of dried cranberries, raisins & dried pomegranate - or whatever I have at the time. It is really good with the different flavors in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shani
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is my go-to baked oatmeal recipe! I make just a few changes: cut sugar in half, substitute applesauce for the melted butter, and add 1/4 cup flaxseed and/or wheat germ. I've never used dried cranberries (I'm thinking this means craisins?) because I don't think I'd like the texture. So we use blueberries (just throw a handful of frozen ones in from the freezer!) or chopped apples (I sautee them in a bit of butter and cinnamon for about 10 minutes to soften while I mix together the other ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I cut the recipe in half and added some "fresh" blackberries that I needed to use before they went bad in place of cranberries. Might try with apples and cranberries or other fruits. Next time I will cut back on the brown sugar because it was borderline too sweet for me. I will also try another reviewer's suggestion by using applesauce instead of butter to make it healthier. Very delicious and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States