Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Rowangrey
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious and easy to throw together! Next time I might try adding less brown sugar and see what happens. It's delicious as-is, but might be too much sugar first thing in the morning. You can throw in whatever dried fruit you have on hand. I used a mix of blueberries and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Fantastic as is but I upped the milk by 1/2 cup then added 3/4 c slivered almonds, 1/2 c flax seed and a cubed skinless medium apple. Even better if you use a power dried berry blend. Another alternative I did was adding pumpkin puree, nutmeg, chopped pecans and chopped dates. Very nice for a fall version. I make a pan of this every week and then put it in a big bowl in the fridge. Scoop a little every day and nuke it for 30 seconds. Nutritious, healthy breakfast every day. Love it! Everyone at my work makes it now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
oh so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Fencl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was fabulous! Reduced the sugar, added a little applesauce. Used strawberries and milk chocolate chips with no dried fruit but I think it's infinitely adaptable. Instead of mixing the butter in, I melted about 1/4 c of butter and drizzled it on top of the casserole right before baking. I think this was plenty of butter. Delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
We had a Ladies Tea This morning, one of the dishes I made was the Baked Oatmeal, the ladies loved it. One of them who doesn't even like oatmeal enjoyed it very much. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this recipe on Sunday and we had it for a quick breakfast all week - just microwave with some milk. I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup and it was still plenty sweet. I also omitted the butter and used 1/2 cup applesauce instead. My kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Unanimous 5 stars - hubby and my 6 and 8 yr olds. I reduced the sugar and used applesauce in lieu of the melted butter. Super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Thanks to the original person who posted this! And the supplementary vid! Delicious, easy! A local market here in Lancaster, PA (LEMON ST.) has made something similar - here are some other healthy substitutes I just used: Coconut Oil instead of butter; Evaporated Cane Sugar or Sucanat (dehydrated cane sugar) to replace brown sugar; 1 cup almond milk instead of regular milk (rice milk works well too). I even poured the mixture into muffin pans without adding anything else and they came out warm, crispy, and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was incredible and easy to make! I was expecting a dry bar. I slightly underbaked and ended up w/ a warm crumbled delight. The only change was that I used fruit bits instead of cranberries because it's all I had on hand. Liked by both adults & kids. I put a little Vanilla almond milk over it to eat. 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The first time I made this dish, I did the substitution of apple sauce for oil and changed nothing else. It was quite tasty, especially the second day, but on the first day I found the texture with all rolled oats to be a bit too chewy (that did improve by the next day). This time I made it with half quick oats and half rolled oats and it was just right. I also substituted half of the sugar with Splenda with no change in taste, making this a bit healthier than written. Great recipe and easy to make. Raisins or cranberries work great with it. And BTW, it didn't come out too soft either time and could be cut up into bars for a take-along breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILive2Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States