Baked Oatmeal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Amazing base to work off of! What I did different: replaced butter with applesauce, added only half of the brown sugar but added about 2-4T of maple syrup. I didnt have cranberries either. Then I put it in a cupcake pan and baked at 350 for about 15-20 mins. They rise, and came out as 12 perfect delicious muffins, they did not fall apart at all. I ate the first one warm with milk. Next time I will be adding nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
mmmMMM, mmmMMM good! Love baked oatmeal, it's like a soft oatmeal muffin in a pan but made with all oats (no flour or fillers). I usually have this for breakfast so I cut way back on the brown sugar and use only 1/4 c. and find it sweet enough. The nice thing about this type of recipe is that it's "tweekable" to preferences. My favorite is to omit the dried cranberries and use cocoa nibs and unsweetened flaked coconut instead and I often add chopped walnuts. I also use coconut oil instead of butter. The recipe is great as written and I enjoy being able to customize it to taste and still have it turn out well. I like it thicker too and bake it in an 8x8 square pan and find 30 minutes enough time. While it's still warm I scoop out a serving and drizzle it with cream. Thanks BLANCHL for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The kids loved it. I thought it was okay, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was delicious! The melted butter made the recipe. I don't like "wet" oatmeal so this was the perfect consistency. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I substituted almond milk, eliminated the dried cranberries, and added (approx) 1/2 c. shredded coconut, 1/2 c. semi-sweet choc chips, and 1/4 c. pecans. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My husband has toast with peanut butter and jam EVERY DAY! I have been trying to spice up his life for over 10 years and this recipe did it! He says it's his all time favourite breakfast. The recipe is prefect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Just reduce the sugar to a half-cup and it is fabulous! And also reduce the baking time...20 minutes at 350 was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Made this recipe for the first time following most of Debby S.'s recommended changes with a little bit of my own: 3 cups of oats with flax seed, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 3 tsp. cinnamon, 1/3 cup melted butter, 1/4 cup apple sauce, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, Only baked for 30 mins at 350 and it turned out perfect. Goes great with a little bit of milk (don't drown it like cereal) and topped with a drizzle of warm REAL maple syrup (here in Canada you better be using the real stuff!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Great but I made a few changes. I used half the sugar, quick oats and 1/4 cup coconut oil instead of the butter. They were great cut into squares for my husbands breakfast at work. Much, much cheaper than the boxed bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
So I have been searching for a baked oatmeal recipe using steel cut oats and since I did not find one, I tried to use this recipe and tweak it to see how it goes...(I know, don't review a recipe if you have changed it...but there are those of us who value feedback on the versatility of a recipe,,,) Anyway, I scaled to one third, and used only 2 Tablespoons butter, 2 Tbs. coconut sugar, but added a mashed, overripe banana and a half cup of unsweetened applesauce. Increased the milk by a few tablespoons since I thought I might have to cook the steel cut oats a little longer than rolled oats. The steel cut oats were definitely still chewy after about 35 minutes of baking, if I try this again with steel cut, I will increase the wet ingredients a bit more. If serving to company, I would stick with rolled oats as the grittier steel cut oat texture may not be appealing to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States