Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Not saying it's inedible but just not a match for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Always on the lookout for recipes my kids will like...my 14 year old son tried one then asked for a plate full! I tried them with salt the first time and my 10 & 12 year old boys said "pretty good", but after trying with seasoned salt they liked them better. My 8 year old tried one then shoved a bunch in her mouth. Her response: "they taste better one at a time!" SO easy and healthy. IMPORTANT: PUT THE SALT ON AFTER BAKING for a better result!!! Thanks for a great idea LucyDelRey! UPDATE!: I'm not changing anything, just realized that I forgot to mention how I put the oil on: I drizzle just a little olive oil on the leaves, then using my fingers I rub it around on all the leaves. This way you don't get too much oil on them making them soggy. Put them on parchment paper on a baking sheet for 10 minutes, sprinkle with salt and whatever else suits your fancy and...voila! Super healthy and very addictive snack - guilt free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I tweaked this recipe by adding cajun spices to fit my taste buds & it turned out delicious! This recipe will definately be a staple at my house. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Easy to make. Whole family enjoys the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Not only are these so so easy to make but they are so good. And the perfect snack when you are trying to eat healthy and don't want to eat potato chips. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Everyone in my house loves these, they barely last a day every time I make them! I find that it's best to go easy on the salt, as using the amount given in the recipe can be a little much, but everyone's different and the kale itself always turns out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I love this as a base recipe for my kale chips. I'm trying to eat more paleo-style food and this works well. I usually shred the kale leaves from the stem by hand first, put in a bowl and mix with slightly melted coconut oil by hand. I then add garlic powder, onion powder and either liquid smoke or chipotle powder (a little of each of these goes a LONG way and you don't need to add both, chose just one or the other). I cook at 350 for about 8 minutes and then check on them. There's a fine line between too soft kale chips and burnt kale chips. You'll know they are just right when they are a dull dark green. Shiny and they are still soft. Brown/black and they are burnt. I don't put the salt on (Himalayan Pink Salt) until I take them out of the oven and they are still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very good. Best when eaten right away while still crispy. They don't keep well in airtight container, this rehydrates them. Mine were done in 8-9 minutes. Why 425 degrees? Might 350 work just as well and lower the chance of burning? Mine began to turn brown at the outer edge of cookie sheet after 9 minutes (at 425).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Addicted! Why haven't I made this sooner? I made this twice. For my first batch, I didn't dry my kale thoroughly enough so it ended up steaming. I left it in the oven a bit longer to crunch it up more, but it was still half soggy half burnt. For my second batch, I dried the kale overnight; skipped the parchment paper; rubbed the oil into the leaves with my fingers. Baked for 10 mins. Absolutely perfect. Nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
soooo good! they shrivel a lot. one head of kale doesn't make much. toss in a bowl with lid with a drizzle of olive oil and some sea salt. no need for parchment. no more than 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States