Baked French Fries I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Incredible fries! Important -- bake at 400 degrees, for 40-45 minutes, and turn at least once during the baking. If you use the 450 degrees in the recipe, the fries will burn. I mixed everything in a gallon size ziploc bag. For the spices, I used freshly minced garlic (no onion powder), paprika, cumin, cayenne pepper, and chili powder. I used 6 potatoes (4 russet, 2 sweet) and 1/3 cup oil. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Mmmmmmmmm!!!!! These french fries were wooooonderful!!!! I cut the potatoes into sticks like normal fries and then baked them for 15 minutes, turned them over, and baked for another 15 minutes (the whole time at 425 since they're thinner than wedges), and I must say these are the tastiest fries ever! I also added salt and freshly ground pepper and garlic salt, and didn't measure it out- just kinda put on as much as looked good, and wow, were they tasty! I think the chili powder was what really put them over the top, so don't be shy with it, and remember that seasonings seem to lose some of their flavors when baked (which means put on more than you usually would)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
997 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This is a great recipe! The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because it needs the tweaking that other posters mentioned: a little salt, lower temperature (400degrees), less cook time (30min), and they need to be turned 1/2way through. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
836 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were phenomenally good! Quick and easy - and much tastier than the frozen variety. Cooking time and temperature will vary greatly on how thick you cut the wedges. I followed the recommendations of others and reduced the cooking time and temp to 425°F. However, after 30 min it was not ready. I had to increase the temperature to 475°F in order to ensure they would be ready in time for dinner. So, if you cut your wedges small and thin - you will need to cut the temp and cooking time. But if you cut true (thick) wedges - follow the recipes directions (although I strongly encourage flipping the potatoes halfway through the process). For a super easy cleanup - I poured the oil and spices into a gallon size Ziploc bag and mixed it all together until well blended - then I added the cut potatoes and kneaded and shook the bag until all the potatoes were well and evenly coated. Then poured it into a 9x13 glass baking dish lined with foil. Minor adjustments: I used paprika, garlic powder, salt, freshly ground black pepper, a pinch of chili powder - mine is exceptionally potent, and cumin)... The second time making this recipe I added fresh minced onion - and that was a very tasty addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
These were actually pretty good, but I only give this recipe 3 stars since the time & temp are way off! Too hot & too long. I had to play with it a lot to save them from burning. Next time I will try them at 400 degrees for a half hour, and turn them halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I'm a college student, which means that I don't have a lot of supplies or ingredients on hand when my tummy starts a'rumbling. But this recipe is really easy, and can be made even if you don't have all the ingredients. What I did was cut up a bunch of potatoes into wedges, put them in a Rubbermaid box, poured a little olive oil over them, sprinkled them with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and red pepper then shut the box and shook vigorously. When the wedges were evenly coated, I put them on a cookie sheet and stuck them in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
FOR THOSE WHO THINK THIS RECIPE TOO BLAND: Take one onion for every 3 potatoes. Cut it in half lengthwise and cut it into slivers. Take all ingredients, including the onions, and put them in a zipper bag. Knead and shake until ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Proceed with recipe directions. The onions add quite a bit of zing as well as nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Excellent, easy and less fat than deep fried! Use any seasonings that appeal to you. Done in about 30 minutes using my convection oven. I turn the potatoes halfway through the cooking to get them more evenly brown. I am surprised by the number of people saying theirs came out burnt. My advice is, don't just close the oven door and forget it. Check on the progress every 5 minutes or so and take them out when they are brown and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
My husband and I did not think these fries were that good. For some reason none of the seasonings could be tasted. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly (just cute the wedges a bit thin so they didnt take as long) and these monsters turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States