Baked French Fries I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My fries came out dry and burned. Timing and temp is way off on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Great baked fries. Used ancho chili powder and 1/4 tsp onion salt rather than onion powder. Took 30 minutes without flipping over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silvermama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Bostwick, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Very tasty! Though it does Need some salt in the seasoning mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I have made these type of potato wedges for years, you can use just about any spice that turns your taste buds. I gave it a 3 star because 450 is too hot and 45 minutes too long. I bake mine for 30 minutes and then to brown the top I put the broiler on for the last 5 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I have made oven fries this way for many years and I vary the seasonings and spices. I use minced fresh garlic instead of powdered garlic. I add a teaspoon or so of Dijon mustard (depending on amount of potatoes), lemon pepper and also shake some grated Parmesan cheese into the seasoning mixture before tossing. As others have mentioned, time should be adjusted according to the thickness of the fries. I find they turn out best if baked on a flat baking sheet rather than on one with sides.........they brown better this way and are easier to turn. These fries are so much better than any served at fast food places and so much healthier too! I also do roasted potatoes this way with similar seasoning and just adjust the cooking time. Great for fingerlings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Have made fries like this for years with various seasonings for those who said they need to be turned 1/2 way through, if you cut true wedges and place them skin side down on the foil, there is no need for turning. Both cut sides brown nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Let me start by saying, I have no problem serving these wedges to any guest or relative.I have containers that are blends of spices but they mostly include only the listed spices here. One problem that I often have is the potatoes not cooking evenly so here are my recommendations: Cut large potatoes potatoes in eighths and boil for 7-10 minutes before mixing with spices.add a pinch of salt and black pepper. Bake at 400 degrees. Bake with a dish half way filled with water to avoid burned wedges .this will result in soft wedges. Take water dish out outshot way in to give it a softer crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Followed the recommendation from another reviewer and lowered the temp to 400. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elysa Hellermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
After reading reviews I had my doubts. I watched the video. People should watch videos they have provided for recipes in case you miss something. Lots of tips were explained on the video. For instance, watch them carefully and often to ensure they don't burn and turn them once or twice halfway. A lot is depending how you cut them also. It calls for baking potatoes which are huge. I didnt have those but close to it. So smaller potatoes aren't going to take as long and you will have to adjust the time accordingly. I also peeled mine first. I didn't have paprika and left it out but added salt and pepper. I didnt measure the spices either. I just sprinkled them on the top along with olive oil and stirred them. Also, it helps to spray your aluminum foil before baking and I use olive oil spray too. Oven on 450 and after 20 minutes I turned them. Put them in for another 20 minutes and were perfect. Next time I will set them on broil for a couple minutes before pulling them out. They had the perfect seasoning. Not spicy and not bland. If they are bland you didnt use enough. Very pleased and this is a keeper and healthier than fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States