Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I was afraid to try this recipe, since I've never had fennel, and always assumed I wouldn't care for it, since I *hate* the flavor of licorice. But after reading the reviews, I decided to give it a shot. Even as I was preparing it, I was skeptical, smelling the strong licorice scent coming from the fennel bulbs as I chopped them. I shouldn't have doubted the allrecipes reviewers so much! The finished product was sweet and almost nutty, creamy and delicious, and didn't taste even the tiniest bit like licorice. A perfect side dish, and a whole new veggie to add to the repetoire! Thanks so much for changing my mind. Also, thanks for the prep instructions for fennel-novices like me - made it easy to work with like I'd done it a million times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
decent dish. you really need to cook this a long time for it to be tender. not nearly the best fennel dish i have used. very heavy. i served at a party and no one got seconds. my husband and i ate it for the rest of the week. i will not keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
It's always exciting to have a somewhat underappreciated vegetable for dinner- not just your avereage brocolli. And I was impressed that cooking the fennel this way made it taste so mellow and sweet. However, this recipe definitely needs some more salt and more flavor. With all the fat, I just can't justify eating this unless it's completely fabulous, and it falls remarkably short of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I love Fennel and this has become my favorite way to srve it. So easy and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This dish was really great! I was nervous because I don't like the taste of raw fennel, but when cooked it loses that harsh licorice flavor and tastes wonderful. I did add one cup of creme fraiche and I know I added about a 1/2 cup of cheese. I have also used sour cream instead of creme fraiche and it works just as well. Great dish, I'm really glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Delicious! We both ate two servings and I could have eaten another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I was very skeptical about making this - I don't much care for fennel's licorice taste - but this turned out pretty good. The fennel flavor was very mild, and complimented the Parmesan nicely. Oh, I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
What a nice surprise this dish is, simple and delicious and a great way to use this overlooked vegetable. Can't wait to serve it at my next dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was a wonderful side dish. Beautiful out of the oven, and a nice mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Loved this recipe. Very delicious tasting and pretty presentation. I definitely plan on serving this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States