Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking with fennel and what a great recipe to start with. I didn't have any creme fraiche so I added a little sour cream and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosebud, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
A little greasy, but no surprise there--looking at the ingredients tells you it will be. I only had one bulb of fennel so I too used an equal amount of potatoes--it turned out to be four thinly sliced potatoes since I have very small red ones. When I went to add the parmesan, I discovered I didn't have any, so I subbed seasoned boursin cheese for the topping. The cheese gave it an extra flair and flavor actually, so a happy accident. Bf doesn't like fennel so I only made this for myself and won't be making it much because of that, but I do like this. It is also a bit rich so definitely a very occasional, but rich side dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I enjoy fennel but I wanted to try a new recipe. This was pretty good but I did add some dried onion and fresh black pepper. Creme fraiche was not available so I used greek yogurt. Maybe a little more parm next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Enjoyed with a rib eye steak and roasted cherry tomatoes. I liked it although I did reduce the ingredients a little, more parmesan less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyLexulous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinner, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great recipe, but it turns out we are not huge fennel fans. Actually my 5 year old daughter loved it. I'm going to try the same recipe but instead add another veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I was a little hesitant because I wasn't sure how the flavors and textures would balance (especially the curdling cream)--but it turned out delicious. I now always double this recipe because everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Don't be afraid of the taste of cooked fennel. This is wonderful and creamy. I've made this several times. it is a great side dish that is low in carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Mmmm, this was my first time cooking with fennel (I like it raw) and we all enjoyed this dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I didn't have enough fennel so I added a leek and some chopped fresh herbs: tarragon, parsley, and chives. I also used a mixture of vegan sour cream and cream cheese, with vegan parmesan and some herb bread crumbs on top. It was excellent, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelclaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was so easy and delicious! I added some chopped fresh garlic to the fennel while it was being sauteed. I also found it easier to core the fennel buy cutting the bulb in half first. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YODAMAHODA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States