Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
very good - next time saute fennel with garlic approx 5 minutes. Mix together cream and sour creme remove fennel let cool slightly then mix with the cream and sour cream mix together, top with parmesan cheese and bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a great vegetable dish! I used milk in place of half-and-half and yogurt in place of the creme fraiche, mixing the milk and yogurt into a slurry before adding them to the pan, and it tasted great! I also added some pepper. Minced garlic might be a good addition too. Good stuff; my husband thought it was artichoke hearts in cream sauce at first - very mild flavor. Next time I would cut the fennel into smaller pieces to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking with fennel and what a great recipe to start with. I didn't have any creme fraiche so I added a little sour cream and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Horn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosebud, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
A little greasy, but no surprise there--looking at the ingredients tells you it will be. I only had one bulb of fennel so I too used an equal amount of potatoes--it turned out to be four thinly sliced potatoes since I have very small red ones. When I went to add the parmesan, I discovered I didn't have any, so I subbed seasoned boursin cheese for the topping. The cheese gave it an extra flair and flavor actually, so a happy accident. Bf doesn't like fennel so I only made this for myself and won't be making it much because of that, but I do like this. It is also a bit rich so definitely a very occasional, but rich side dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I enjoy fennel but I wanted to try a new recipe. This was pretty good but I did add some dried onion and fresh black pepper. Creme fraiche was not available so I used greek yogurt. Maybe a little more parm next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Enjoyed with a rib eye steak and roasted cherry tomatoes. I liked it although I did reduce the ingredients a little, more parmesan less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyLexulous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinner, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great recipe, but it turns out we are not huge fennel fans. Actually my 5 year old daughter loved it. I'm going to try the same recipe but instead add another veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I was a little hesitant because I wasn't sure how the flavors and textures would balance (especially the curdling cream)--but it turned out delicious. I now always double this recipe because everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Don't be afraid of the taste of cooked fennel. This is wonderful and creamy. I've made this several times. it is a great side dish that is low in carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Mmmm, this was my first time cooking with fennel (I like it raw) and we all enjoyed this dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States