Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
great recipe. I added salt and pepper. used one bulb, 3/4 cups sour cream and 1/2 cup water. Really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is a really good side dish. I've made this recipe a lot since trying it the first time. I noticed that it tastes a lot better if you use organic (or home grown) fennel instead of non-organic, store bought fennel. The dish I made with the non-organic fennel didn't have hardly any flavour and just tasted like the cream sauce. With organic fennel this dish has a really nice, nutty (typical fennel) flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My new Fennel favorite fennel recipe - LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Rated 3, could be a 4 with adjustments in the notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I searched online for substitutes for creme fraiche and found that plain yogurt is recommended. I substituted plain greek yogurt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and it made the best fennel I've ever tasted. My husband and son liked it too. I had 2 at the table who don't like fennel, and they didn't like this version either, but that won't stop me from making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
What a fabulous recipe! Thank you so much. I swapped the creme fraiche for sour cream (only because that's what I had in the fridge). Because fennel is not a common vegie, everybody raved about it. Comments like: What is this? Fennel? LOL so funny. Thank you for a super easy, delicious side. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Easy to make, but not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
definitely need to chop the fennel or cook it extra long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Good recipe. We substituted Philadelphia Cooking Cream Italian Cheese & Herb for the creme fraiche. Came out a little dry, although we cut the recipe in half. I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I recently moved to Italy where Fennel is in abundance. Wanting to try it this sounded good. It was excellent. I only made some minor changes. I sauteed the fennel in olive oil instead of butter. Added salt and pepper and instead of cream fraiche and half & half I used a new product (Philadelphia cooking cream) the entire container. I also added panko bread crumbs on the top with the parmesan cheese. I baked it all in my skillet since it can go from stove to oven. Why dirty another dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States