Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe was great but was a little confused when it came to preparing the cake. This recipe called for 1 egg along with the almond extract but if you prepare the cake mix by the directions on the box it calls for 3 eggs so I went by the box directions and it turned out really good. Everyone was amazed that the Baked Alaska didn't melt and was very tasty. We used orange/pineapple ice cream which was very yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
There was some confusion in the instructions. The Cake was also alittle bit to sweet and heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I found this recipe to good, but too boring compared to other Baked Alaska's I've enjoyed. Try using a cookie base for the base (prepared cookie dough), and adding some fun to the ice cream, such as crushed candy or candy bar. Also, you cannot stress enough the importance of having the meringue truly meet every edge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
too difficult. The ice cream melted before I could get the meringue on. The meringue never formed stiff peaks. Appereance was awful. Tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
nice idea, but using that many egg whites was horrible- they wouldn't form stiff peaks at all. definetly cut that amount down! it was a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Try a brownie base- this was a family treat when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was spectacular! I don't think that you need that many egg whites though. I used only 4 and had more than enough. Thanks for a great recipe! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
First of all, I only needed 3 egg whites for the meringue. This was a fun and special treat for my husband on Valentine's day, but a little disappointing for all of the effort it took. I can get as much enjoyment out of a bowl of cake and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This recipe is too hard to make. I didn't like it becaus it didn't turn out like it should have. It was too dificult!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I've had this before and it was INCREDIBLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States