Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The first time I made this we played it safe and broiled it. It was very good. The second time we baked it, but the ice cream melted a bit. The third time I put a layer of meringue between the cake and the ice cream, that way the ice cream wouldn't melt. I would recommend either only broiling it for a couple minutes or baking it with meringue in between. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for dessert for Christmas dinner and it was a success. I used a white cake mix and a chocolate / vanilla combo ice cream. The only thing I will do different next time is to get a more flavorful ice cream; possibly mint chip. Unfortunately for me the dessert did not get finished that night and I had to suffer through eating the rest of it myself over the next several days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this today. The only problem I had was the cake instructions. So I used just one egg, 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup oil and the 1/2 tsp of vanilla (since I didn't have any almond extract) It was absolutely delicious. We couldn't believe how big it was!! wow!! The meringue tasted like marshmallows..Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wonderful Dessert. It was guys turn to cook for our potluck group. My husband did awesome job. He made his dessert in a springform pan. Best baked alaska that I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love Baked Alaska, but I think that it tastes better with a foam cake, like Angel Food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuxi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geraldine, Montana, USA
Living In: Atkinson, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Follow the cake instructions on the box as far as how many eggs to use. The almond is a great touch. Also, the recipe for the meringue is correct, because if you don't thickly coat the entire cake and ice cream concoction, it will melt in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
It was ok. This was the first time I had Baked Alaska and I wasn't impressed. It was a lot of work for something that didn't taste very good and was difficult to make. It was fun but I probably wont make it again. Not something you can wow guests with since you have to make and serve immediately which means you have to be in the kitchen cooking instead of socializing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made my first baked alaska using this recipe as a baseline. I used vanilla bean ice cream, haagen daz chocolate ice cream, and HD rasberry sorbet softened, spreading one layer at a time in a medium tupperware bowl, freezing between layers. I baked 1/2 of Hersheys best choc cake recipe in a round layer cake pan that was the same size across as the tupperware bowl. I spread abt 1/4 c melted raspberry jam on the cooled cake and then put the cake, jam side down, on top of the frozen ice cream layers,smashing it in place with plastic wrap, and put it back in the freezer overnight. I made the meringue as the recipe reads, only I used 10 egg whites, unmolded my ice cream cake into a baking sheet covered with parchment( I covered the bowl for a few minutes with a warm damp towel to loosen) I covered the whole thing with the meringue, then back to the freezer for several hours. Right before serving, I put about 1/2 c of grand marnier in a metal gravy boat, ignited it with my kitchen torch, and poured it , flaming, over the alaska.It was a show stopper! I let it burn until all the alcohol was burned off, and finishd browning the meringue with my torch.. It took 3 days to make, but it was for my husbands birthday, so definitely worth the wait..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
not to waist them I would probably make a custard of the yolks, and maybe even use it between the layers.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The end result turned out beautiful and tasted great but could not follow the directions as written. The instructions are confusing because as written the cake mix, 1 egg and almond extract does not make a batter. Conversly, making the cake mix as directed adding 1 more egg and almond extract makes more batter than will fill 1 8X8 pan. First time making this unique treat.....will definitely make again......thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States