Baked Alaska Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
When I made Baked Alaska in my high school Home Economics class, I baked it at 500 degrees. It turned out perfect. I have always remembered that...the key was to having NO air holes in the meringue. Thank you for teaching me Mrs. Bond (RIP)...I love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
There is a video that goes with this recipe. It states to make the cake according to box directions, with the exception of only using one egg. That is what the egg in the ingredient list is used for. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sburghauser
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Turned out amazing. I am not a baker but everything feel into place perfectly. Everyone was so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The first time I made this we played it safe and broiled it. It was very good. The second time we baked it, but the ice cream melted a bit. The third time I put a layer of meringue between the cake and the ice cream, that way the ice cream wouldn't melt. I would recommend either only broiling it for a couple minutes or baking it with meringue in between. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for dessert for Christmas dinner and it was a success. I used a white cake mix and a chocolate / vanilla combo ice cream. The only thing I will do different next time is to get a more flavorful ice cream; possibly mint chip. Unfortunately for me the dessert did not get finished that night and I had to suffer through eating the rest of it myself over the next several days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this today. The only problem I had was the cake instructions. So I used just one egg, 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup oil and the 1/2 tsp of vanilla (since I didn't have any almond extract) It was absolutely delicious. We couldn't believe how big it was!! wow!! The meringue tasted like marshmallows..Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wonderful Dessert. It was guys turn to cook for our potluck group. My husband did awesome job. He made his dessert in a springform pan. Best baked alaska that I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love Baked Alaska, but I think that it tastes better with a foam cake, like Angel Food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuxi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geraldine, Montana, USA
Living In: Atkinson, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Follow the cake instructions on the box as far as how many eggs to use. The almond is a great touch. Also, the recipe for the meringue is correct, because if you don't thickly coat the entire cake and ice cream concoction, it will melt in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathySalustri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
It was ok. This was the first time I had Baked Alaska and I wasn't impressed. It was a lot of work for something that didn't taste very good and was difficult to make. It was fun but I probably wont make it again. Not something you can wow guests with since you have to make and serve immediately which means you have to be in the kitchen cooking instead of socializing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States