Bacon-Balsamic Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made these for Easter for the first time. It was a last minute change of recipes, and I hit a home run. I didn't have fresh parsley on hand, so I garnished with very light sprinkle of paprika. Next time, I will be sure I have parsley, because I think it would only add to the deliciousness. The other deviation I made was to follow some of the other suggestions and grate the red onion rather than mince it. And that became my only "issue" with these eggs. First of all, I used our home grown chicken eggs, so the yolks are much more yellow than store bought eggs. Then, when I grated the red onion, it turned into a slurry of greyish looking yuck. In spite of my better judgement, I added that to the bright orange yolks, and the result was just what I should have expected - not a very appetizing color. Next time, and there will be many next times, because everyone loved these, I will mince the onions as the recipe calls for - that will eliminate some the the juicing I got when I grated the the onion. If I decide that I like the grated onion better, I will experiment with a non-red onion. I have been looking for the "perfect" deviled egg recipie, and I think I found it. Thank you for sharing this Stephanie V!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
OMG, best deviled eggs I have ever had in my life. Try it and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have made this recipe for a few special events. The consumption of the eggs are always followed by rave reviews and usually with the request for the recipe. Replace your old mayo, egg, salt and pepper recipe with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent ingredients and excellent texture! The bacon is awesome mixed into this. The only thing I'd do differently the second time 'round is to omit the sugar and double the balsamic vinegar. I still can't figure out why'd you want to add sugar to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
excellent. you had me at balsamic vinegar and celery salt. yum! made these for a baby shower and they all asked for the recipe. followed it as is but couldn't help adding some hot paprika on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Love these things. I always add more bacon and sprinkle w/ some sweet paprika when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were the best. I followed everyone's recommendation and halved the red onion portion and grated it. I didn't have any bacon on hand but it was great even without it. I cant imagine how much better it would be with it. I compensated by adding a tiny pinch of salt. I also used a small sandwich bag to fill the egg whites. It made is so easy and it made those pretty swirls. I topped with a sprinkle of paprika. Next time I will make these using those real bacon bits and someone has mentioned. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These were AMAZING!! My family is huge deviled egg fans and were very skeptical about a new recipe...but it was a HUGE hit!! They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These are absolutely the best deviled eggs I've ever tasted. They are so different from the average recipe. The combination of balsamic vinegar, bacon, and sugar is delicious. I always add a bit more balsamic vinegar than called for to make that flavor stand out more, and also to make them a bit more tangy. It contrasts perfectly with the addition of sugar. Every time I take them to a function, I'm always asked for the recipe. You'll never want to make plain deviled eggs again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States