Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very, very, spicy. Too spicy in my opinion. Do not try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use up the last of my red wine and boy am I glad that I found this recipe. It was DELICIOUS. I followed everything almost exactly as it's listed with a few exceptions: 1) I didn't have any Italian seasoning on hand so I ended up throwing in a pinch each of dried oregano, thyme, and parsley, 2) I cut up a couple of Italian sausages and cooked it along with the onion and garlic, 3) I ended up simmering the sauce for about 45 minutes instead of 15. I think the longer a sauce sits, the better it tastes and it also thickened it up. After 15 minutes, it was still just too thin for my liking. I served it over some cmapanelle pasta and topped it off with fresh parmesan. I can't wait to eat leftovers for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
spicy yes really hot no not at all eliminate the sugar you will fing that the combo of sweet basil and the sweet onion is more than enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very flavorful! We added extra veggies too, because we like chunky sauce. It's a little watery, we found, so definitely stick with Penne. Good and spicy. Added extra red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My first introduction to Arrabbiata sauce was Wegmans handing out free samples of a sauce made for them and sold in their refrigerator section. It was surprisingly good for a supermarket sauce. I started ordering it at Italian restaurants but those in my area leave something to be desired. So I started looking to make my own. I came across this recipe and it knocked my socks off. Even better with spinach over cheese filled pastas. I tone it down a bit for guests who don't care for spicy but they still love it. Can't wait till I get back to Little Italy in NYC to see how their Arrabbiata stacks up. This is so good it will be hard to beat except maybe if they start with fresh tomatoes from their own gardens. We've got some great farm stands out here in the country so I'll be giving them a try. Can't get any fresher than that! If the worst any of the other reviewers can say is that it's too spicy then don't bother reviewing it. This is the way this sauce is supposed to be. In fact, don't make this sauce in the first place if you don't like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a decent sauce but it didn't blow me away. It tasted like store bought spicy tomato sauce... or any regular tomato sauce with a lot of red pepper flakes added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great recipe! Quick and easy to make! I added sausage to it for some meat, and mixed the penne noodles into the sauce. Then I placed it into a baking dish and topped it off with a mix of cheddar and mozzarella cheese and baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 10 mins and it was absolutely fantastic! Obviously not the healthiest choice but very similar to a three cheese penne that you would get at Boston Pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Super quick, common ingredients, great flavor. The onyl drawback is that is is all made stove-top, so make sure you have enough pans. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlichnerowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Delicious. My girls and I lapped this up over cheese tortellini. Wouldn't change a thing. Thankyou Ellen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Yummy! I love a good Arrabbiata Sauce, and this one is perfect. I added even more red pepper, since this sauce is supposed to be really spicy. I also used brown sugar instead of white. I used a pretty good amount, so it was both sweet and spicy. Mm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States