Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this sauce with tiny tube pasta, and it was a hit with my boyfriend who loves spicy foods. My family found it too spicy for their taste, but i think the sauce was delicious. we ate at an Italian restaurant last night, and the sauce we got with out bread tasted just like this sauce according to my bf. Will def use this recipe again, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We loved this Arrabbiata Sauce, just the right amount of kick, and very hearty. My boyfriend loves mushrooms, so of course I had to put some fresh chopped mushrooms in... They fit in well with the other ingredients, but I am sure that the sauce is just as good without mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Excellent sauce! Love it without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
We had an absolutely amazing meal yesterday. My partner thought the dish was definitely restaurant quality! I sauteed 1/4 lb diced pancetta with the onions and garlic, simmered the sauce for about 45 minutes before adding in 1 1/2 lbs of jumbo shrimp and let that simmer for an additional 25 minutes. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I cut the sugar down to 1 teaspoon and the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon. 1 teaspoon of sugar was more than enough for my taste and I may cut it down just a hair. I love spicy food but can't imagine how hot the dish would have been with 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes! Ouch! The dish was served over spaghetti and was just divine. We have at least 2 nights' worth of food so perhaps we'll have it with penne tonight. Can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is the sauce I have been looking for! Delicious, spicy, and so simple to prepare. Family prefers this to all the other sauces I have tried over the years. The only substitution I make is using a tsp. of dried basil instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yum. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
delicious! It was a little chunky though -- next time I'll probably use one can of crushed tomatoes and one of petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Good sauce! I followed the recipe more or less exactly. I'm not really a pasta man and just wanted to experiment with some leftover penne. I'll probably be making this in batches for pizza and other things! I doubled the red pepper flakes near the end and I didn't find it even a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Think it needed less sugar, and more red pepper. Too much sugar in my opinion. Don't think I'd try to make it again even with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This has become a family favourite and my sister says it's the best arrabbiata sauce she's ever had! We add chorizo or pancetta at the end to give it some more weight. Absolutely delicious! Many thanks Ellen for your splendid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States