Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
We had an absolutely amazing meal yesterday. My partner thought the dish was definitely restaurant quality! I sauteed 1/4 lb diced pancetta with the onions and garlic, simmered the sauce for about 45 minutes before adding in 1 1/2 lbs of jumbo shrimp and let that simmer for an additional 25 minutes. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I cut the sugar down to 1 teaspoon and the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon. 1 teaspoon of sugar was more than enough for my taste and I may cut it down just a hair. I love spicy food but can't imagine how hot the dish would have been with 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes! Ouch! The dish was served over spaghetti and was just divine. We have at least 2 nights' worth of food so perhaps we'll have it with penne tonight. Can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is the sauce I have been looking for! Delicious, spicy, and so simple to prepare. Family prefers this to all the other sauces I have tried over the years. The only substitution I make is using a tsp. of dried basil instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yum. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
delicious! It was a little chunky though -- next time I'll probably use one can of crushed tomatoes and one of petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Good sauce! I followed the recipe more or less exactly. I'm not really a pasta man and just wanted to experiment with some leftover penne. I'll probably be making this in batches for pizza and other things! I doubled the red pepper flakes near the end and I didn't find it even a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Think it needed less sugar, and more red pepper. Too much sugar in my opinion. Don't think I'd try to make it again even with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This has become a family favourite and my sister says it's the best arrabbiata sauce she's ever had! We add chorizo or pancetta at the end to give it some more weight. Absolutely delicious! Many thanks Ellen for your splendid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Sauce was pretty thin... didn't have tomato paste. Otherwise good, next time I'll add a lot more vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Beautiful simple sauce. Followed the recipe and served over whole wheat penne pasta with some shrimp lightly sauteed in garlic and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Very easy to make. I am Italian and love Italian cooking however I would reduce the sugar just a bit. Maybe 1 tsp. and then add more to taste. Excellent recipe when you want home cooking but are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States