Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Great recipe! I did change a bit of it however - I used white whole wheat flour, closer to 2 cups apples, and added small amounts of ground cloves, nutmeg, and allspice to to the topping in order to create a "mulled cider" flavor to the muffin. I doubled the recipe and the lot still didn't last more than a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
these muffins were good...however the streusel melted through the muffin...so i was sad there wasn't the yummy crunchy topping. maybe next time add streusel at the end while still hot enough to melt the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Pleasantly plump apple muffin, moist, but (gratefully!) not soggy. I prepared these exactly as the recipe directs and would do so again. Nicely spiced, tender, and perfectly laced with apples. Since neither the muffin nor the streusel was overly sweet it was nice to have a real, apple muffin rather than a little apple cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
As is, this recipe is pretty good for a basic muffin recipe. But it lacks some helpful tips in the instructions, and the ingredient list is typical. So here's how I amped it up. I whisked the melted butter with the sour cream first, before adding the beaten eggs - this adds fluffiness to the batter. Also, you never add beaten eggs directly into warm melted butter alone, or you might get wet scrambled eggs! In recipes like this one, it's also a good idea to toss fruit with a little flour so the pieces won't sink to the bottom of muffins or bread in a glob. To improve the taste, I added vanilla to the wet batter. I left out the cinnamon in favor of an equivalent, combined amount of the following: some allspice in the dry batter, and some cardamom, dried orange peel, and dried lemon peel in the wet. You have to experiment with these spices to find the ratio you like best, but they balance out the flavor of apples (I used granny smith) and also, alone or in combination, of pears. I also never use plain flour for toppings - it just adds more gluten without flavor. I substitute a slightly smaller amount of crushed cinnamon graham crackers, shortbread cookies, or butter cookies, depending on the recipe and my own preferences. This strategy uses up leftovers or stale post-party remains, and generally adds more oomph to my cooking. Hope all these hints and tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Loved them. I used the apples that were on hand so they weren't the best. But the muffins were lightly sweet and moist. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! It's going in the permanent collection!!! My son proclaimed they were the best things ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm amazed! I'm one of those cooks that doesn't eat what they make because they just don't think it tastes that good.... but I ate two muffins right out of the oven! I can't believe I didn't buy these from a bakery. The only thing I did differently was add a tad bit more cinnamon and for the topping I used brown sugar in place of white sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
What a great way to use the 'extra' apples or apples that have gone a little rubbery!!!I used some wholewheat flour along with the white - made it a little more healthy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These were very tasty. I added a little extra spice and in the topping I left out one tablespoon of flour. I loved the topping little bit of crunchiness on the top was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made these for my daughter's kindergarten class & they were a hit! I used applesauce (2 individual serving cups) instead of diced apples. These are great even w/o the streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use the frozen homemade apple pie fillling I made in the fall, I found this and was pleased. They were a little soggier than I would have liked, but it was because I used a substution, but I would definatly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States